Exhibitions

Vienna for Art’s Sake!

Contemporary Art Show
27 February 2015 to 31 May 2015
Winterpalais

For a period of three months, contemporary art will pervade the glamorous ambience of Prince Eugene of Savoy’s former residence within the framework of the exhibition Vienna for Art’s Sake!. Having been invited by designer and creator Peter Noever, thirteen prominent contemporary artists will enter into a dialogue with the newly renovated rooms of the Winterpalais. The starting point of this project is the Archive Austria, Austria’s contribution to Luciano Benetton Collection’s Imago Mundi. Different from other archives of Imago Mundi, Peter Noever has expanded the Archive Austria by artists, architects, and designers who live and/or work in Vienna or have left behind a remarkable contribution, regardless of their geographic origins and nationality. Artists nominating artists: this process also lends itself to questioning the prevailing understanding of curatorial work. The Vienna exhibition is the first to be presented on such a large scale and seeks to demonstrate the relevant artistic positions behind the miniature format of 10 by 12 cm. The 161 works of the Archive Austria will be presented in the Primary Exhibition at the Sala terrena of the Winter Palace. Moreover, thirteen impressive artistic interventions will respond to its Baroque rooms. The interventions have been specially planned and developed for this location; they are meant to demonstrate the significance of contemporary artistic production from a new perspective and visualise the unbroken force of thinkers and visionaries. The works by Magdalena Jetelová, Iv Toshain, Eva Schlegel, Manfred Wakolbinger, Hans Kupelwieser, the next ENTERprise, Joep van Lieshout, Koen Vanmechelen, Hermann Nitsch, Kiki Smith, and others will be on view at the Winterpalais in Vienna’s Himmelpfortgasse from 27 February to 31 May 2015.
After Looking Eastward (Russia), Snapshot Romania (Romania), and Iceland/Boiling Ice (Iceland), Vienna for Art’s Sake! is the fourth European collection of Imago Mundi, the ‘Global Archives of Art’, by which Luciano Benetton has redefined art collecting. Benetton’s Imago Mundi rests on a philanthropic approach and aims to display the maximum number of artistic positions and artists in the widest and most representative contexts possible. It was important for Luciano Benetton, who appreciates Austria for its tradition in the arts, to entrust Peter Noever with the compilation of Vienna for Art’s Sake! – the Austrian contribution to the Luciano Benetton Collection. ‘Luciano Benetton was prepared to accept a “unique system of relationship” without any ifs, ands, or buts,’ says Peter Noever about their collaboration.
Artists, architects, and designers who live and/or work in Vienna or have left behind a significant contribution were invited to participate in Vienna for Art’s Sake! and declared themselves prepared to accept the challenge of working with the small format of 10 by 12 cm. Artists nominating artists: this process also lends itself to questioning the prevailing understanding of curatorial work. The 161 works demonstrate multiple microcosms in their own right. Three artists who had agreed to supply works died during the preparations of Vienna for Art’s Sake!: Johann Georg Gsteu was able to complete his work. Alfons Schilling and Otto Muehl passed away before they could hand in their works. They will be honoured with a white canvas in the 400-page catalogue.

Publication

Vienna for Art’s Sake!
Price:EUR 29

Ausstellungen

Vienna for Art’s Sake!

Contemporary Art Show
27. Februar 2015 bis 31. Mai 2015
Winterpalais

Zeitgenössische Kunst durchflutet für drei Monate mit der Ausstellung Vienna for Art’s Sake! das prunkvolle Ambiente der ehemaligen Residenz des Prinzen Eugen von Savoyen. Auf Einladung von Peter Noever, Designer und Ausstellungsmacher, treten 13 herausragende zeitgenössische Künstler in Dialog mit 13 der neu renovierten barocken Räumlichkeiten des Winterpalais. Ausgangspunkt für dieses Projekt ist Vienna for Art´s Sake!/Archive Austria, der österreichische Beitrag zu Luciano Benettons Kunstprojekt Imago Mundi. Im Unterschied zu anderen Archiven von Imago Mundi hat Peter Noever das Archive Austria um Künstler/Architekten/Designer erweitert, die in Wien arbeiten, leben oder einen bedeutenden Beitrag hinterlassen haben – ungeachtet ihrer geografischen und nationalen Zugehörigkeit. Künstler nominieren Künstler – ein Prozess, der in dieser Art auch die vorherrschende kuratorische Tätigkeit infrage stellt. Die Wiener Ausstellung ist auch die erste, die im großen Maßstab gezeigt wird und die den Anspruch erhebt, zu demonstrieren, welche maßgebenden Künstlerpositionen hinter dem Miniaturformat 10 x 12 cm stehen. Die 161 Arbeiten des Archive Austria werden in der Primary Exhibition/Sala terrena im Winterpalais präsentiert. Darüber hinaus reagieren die 13 künstlerischen Interventionen eindrucksvoll auf die barocken Räumlichkeiten. Die speziell für diesen Ort geplanten und entwickelten Interventionen sollen einen neuen Blick auf die Bedeutung zeitgenössischer künstlerischer Produktion aufzeigen und die ungebrochene Kraft von Denkern und Visionären sichtbar machen. Im Winterpalais in der Himmelpfortgasse sind vom 27. Februar bis 31. Mai 2015 u. a. Arbeiten von Magdalena Jetelová, Iv Toshain, Eva Schlegel, Manfred Wakolbinger, Hans Kupelwieser, the next ENTERprise, Joep van Lieshout, Koen Vanmechelen, Hermann Nitsch und Kiki Smith zu sehen.
Nach Looking Eastward (Russland), Snapshot Romania (Rumänien) und Iceland/Boiling Ice (Island) ist Vienna for Art’s Sake! nun die vierte europäische Sammlung von Imago Mundi, dem „Weltarchiv der Kunst“, mit dem Luciano Benetton das Sammeln von Kunst neu definiert. Benettons Imago Mundi basiert auf einem philanthropischen Anspruch und zielt darauf ab, eine maximale Anzahl von Kunstpositionen und Künstlern in einem möglichst breiten und repräsentativen Kontext darzustellen. Luciano Benetton, der Österreich als traditionellen Kunstort besonders schätzt, war es ein Anliegen, Peter Noever mit der Erarbeitung von Vienna for Art’s Sake! – dem österreichischen Beitrag zur Luciano Benetton Collection – zu betrauen. „Luciano Benetton war ohne Wenn und Aber bereit, ein ‚unique system of relationship‘ zu akzeptieren“, so Peter Noever über die Zusammenarbeit.
Künstler/Architekten/Designer, die in Wien arbeiten, leben oder einen bedeutenden Beitrag hinterlassen haben, wurden eingeladen, an Vienna for Art’s Sake! teilzunehmen und sich der Herausforderung zu stellen, mit dem ungewohnt kleinen Format von 10 x 12 cm zu arbeiten. Künstler nominieren Künstler – ein Prozess, der in dieser Art auch die vorherrschende kuratorische Tätigkeit infrage stellt. Die 161 Werke zeigen jeweils auf unterschiedliche Art und Weise einen ganz eigenen Mikrokosmos. Drei Künstler, die Arbeiten zugesagt hatten, verstarben während der Vorbereitungszeit von Vienna for Art’s Sake!: Johann Georg Gsteu konnte sein Werk noch fertigstellen. Alfons Schilling und Otto Muehl verstarben, bevor sie ihre Arbeiten abgeben konnten. Sie werden im Katalog, der ca. 400 Seiten umfasst, mit einer weißen Leinwand gewürdigt.
 

Winterpalais

Publikation

Vienna for Art’s Sake!
Preis: EUR 29