Mission of the 21er Haus

(c) Gerald Zugmann / www.zugmann.com
(c) Belvedere, Vienna
© Belvedere, Vienna

The 21er Haus is to be understood as a place of artistic production, reception, and reflection. The focus is on Austrian art of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries and its embedding in an international context. The Belvedere’s holdings, which are given a permanent presence on the first floor of the building, serve as a basis for research and exhibition activities. Relying on the Belvedere’s collection as a starting point, the programme, with its various formats, is meant to build a bridge between the museum’s modern architecture and contemporary art, thereby pursuing multidisciplinary and socially analytical approaches. Thematically focused temporary displays and corresponding monographic positions will concentrate on the numerous and ever more significant interrelationships among artists.

The museum’s core tasks of education, collecting, research, and conservation are considered integral parts of all exhibition projects and provide the foundation for the production and the positioning of Austrian art. The 21er Haus will make it possible for visitors to gain a comprehensive and profound overview of recent Austrian art history in all its diversity. It is the museum’s primary task to commit itself to the continuation of the international integration of Austrian art up to the present.

The cooperation with other institutions, as well as artist- and curator-in-residence programmes, ensure a regular exchange of new insights in local and international developments. Our exhibition activities are complemented by lectures, performances, screenings, and concerts in order to seek a lively dialogue with our audience. The 21er Haus is a place of both art historical and artistic research – a place of discourse, dissent, and experiment in which society is questioned and rediscovered.

Contact
Visitor Services
Phone
+43 1 795 57-770
E-mail

Saturday, Sunday and holidays
Phone
+43 1 795 57-0
 
© 2014 Österreichische Galerie Belvedere
Imprint
Press
Language

Die Mission des 21er Haus

(c) Gerald Zugmann / www.zugmann.com
(c) Belvedere, Wien
© Belvedere, Wien

Das 21er Haus versteht sich als ein Ort der künstlerischen Produktion, Rezeption und Reflexion. Im Mittelpunkt steht die österreichische Kunst des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts und deren Einbettung in einen internationalen Kontext. Die Sammlungen des Belvedere, mit einer permanenten Präsenz im Obergeschoß des Gebäudes, dienen als Basis für die Forschungs- und Ausstellungsarbeit. Von diesen ausgehend schlägt das Programm in unterschiedlichen Formaten eine Brücke über die Museumsarchitektur der Moderne hin zur zeitgenössischen Kunst, die durch interdisziplinäre und gesellschaftsanalytische Herangehensweisen geprägt ist. Thematische Wechselausstellungen und korrespondierende Einzelpositionen fokussieren dabei die zahlreichen und immer bedeutungsvolleren Verbindungen zwischen den Künsten.

Die musealen Kernaufgaben des Vermittelns, Sammelns, Forschens und Bewahrens sind integrale Bestandteile aller Ausstellungsprojekte und bilden die Grundlagen für die Produktion und die Positionierung österreichischer Kunst. Das 21er Haus ermöglicht es dem Besucher, an einem Ort einen umfassenden und profunden Überblick über die jüngere österreichische Kunstgeschichte in all ihrer Vielfalt zu erhalten. Die vorrangige Aufgabe des Museums ist es, die internationale Vernetzung österreichischer Kunst bis in die Gegenwart engagiert fortzuführen.

Die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Institutionen als auch Artist- und Curator-in-Residence-Programme gewährleisten einen regelmäßigen Wissenstransfer und ermöglichen neue Blicke auf lokale und internationale Entwicklungen. Durch Vorträge, Performances, Filmvorführungen und Konzerte wird die Ausstellungstätigkeit erweitert und der lebendige Dialog mit dem Publikum gesucht. Das 21er Haus ist ein Ort kunsthistorischer wie künstlerischer Forschung, ein Ort des Diskurses, des Dissens und des Experiments, in dem Gesellschaft befragt und entdeckt wird.

Kontakt
Kunstvermittlung & Besucherservice
Tel.
+43 1 795 57-770
E-Mail
 
© 2014 Österreichische Galerie Belvedere
Newsletter Anmelden Kontakt Impressum
B2B Tourismus Presse
Language