21er Haus

Arsenalstraße 1
1030 Vienna
Buy Tickets
Hide map

Great Prospects!

Opening 21er Haus - from Nov 15, 2011 until Jan 8, 2012
Marcus Geiger, o.T., 2011, Courtesy of the artist, Photo © Belvedere, Wien / Wolfgang Thaler
Pierre Huyghe, The Host and The Cloud, 2009/10, Courtesy Marian Goodman Gallery, New York and Paris Foto © Ola Rindal
museum in progress/Peter Kogler © museum in progress/Peter Kogler, Foto: Wolfgang Thaler
Franz West, Moonlight, 1998/2001, on permanent loan by Dr. Ernst Ploil, Photo © Museum der Moderne Rupertinum, Salzburg
Lois Weinberger, Wild Cube, 2011, Photo © Belvedere, Wien
Exhibition view, Photo: Belvedere Wien / Wolfgang Thaler
Oswald Oberhuber, Museum im Museum, 1978, Museum Moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig, Photo © Belvedere, Wien / Wolfgang Thaler

For the opening of the 21er Haus, invitations were extended to artists who raise questions about the social and institutional significance of the museum and address the new venue and its history. Each artistic intervention approaches the site in an individual way and contributes to an open field of experimentation, in which different artistic disciplines can encounter each other and overlap.

The various approaches chosen by the artists reflect a broad spectrum: Marcus Geiger’s parody of official symbols representing the state features flags and red carpets that have left their usual context. In the sunlit rooms of the 21er Haus, Franz West places emphasis on the moonlight and its special qualities. Florian Hecker’s sound piece, a chimera of sound and voice with a hallucinatory effect, has grown from an artistic collaboration. While Oswald Oberhuber, with his “museum within a museum”, views Austrian art from a different and frequently forgotten perspective, Christian Philipp Müller, in his work Family of Austrians, addresses clichés commonly associated with Austria.

Right next to it is Peter Kogler’s installation on the artists’ portraits that have been produced within the framework of the alternative museum project museum in progress since the 1990s. With his fluorescent sculpture Struttura al neon per la IX Triennale di Milano, Lucio Fontana opens up space for a fourth dimension in architecture, and Sophie Thorsen has looked into the history of toy sculptures conceived for playgrounds in Vienna during the 1950s with regard to an expanded historiography of art. On the floor below, Andrea Fraser is presenting an exaggerated and hysterical guided tour of a museum, thus ironizing the museum as an institution of high culture.

Lois Weinberger counters the traditional presentation in the “White Cube” with his Wild Cube, while only a few yards farther, in the museum shop, Heimo Zobernig amalgamates the economic systems of art and fashion, discussing the role of the artist as a brand with his T-shirt Sale. Screenings in the museum’s cinema include old newsreels conveying the building’s history, a poetic illumination of the architectural structure through fireworks by Sasha Pirker, and a film by Pierre Huyghe about the potentials and surreal stories that may unfold in an abandoned museum. The film Hypercrisis by Josef Dabernig, staging the creative blockages and failures to concentrate of the last remaining artists in a recreation home for Soviet filmmakers, will have its premiere in Austria.

The title Great Prospects! refers to the transparent architecture of the 21er Haus, which grants a view in all directions, but it is also the literal translation of „Belvedere“ and thus includes the special history of the overarching museum institution which was founded in 1903 as the „Moderne Galerie“. Installations/works by Lucio Fontana, Andrea Fraser, Marcus Geiger, Florian Hecker, Peter Kogler/museum in progress, Christian Philipp Müller, Oswald Oberhuber, Sasha Pirker, Sofie Thorsen, Lois Weinberger, Franz West, and Heimo Zobernig Film projections by Josef Dabernig and Pierre Huyghe, as well as newsreels of the Filmarchiv Austria.

Curators: Bettina Steinbrügge, Cosima Rainer
Back to overview
© 2014 Österreichische Galerie Belvedere
Imprint
Press
Read more...
Collapse
Language

21er Haus

Arsenalstraße 1
1030 Wien
Tickets kaufen
Belvedere-Karte ausblenden

Schöne Aussichten!

Eröffnung 21er Haus - von 15.11.2011 bis 08.01.2012
Marcus Geiger, o.T., 2011, Courtesy der Künstler, Foto © Belvedere, Wien / Wolfgang Thaler
Pierre Huyghe, The Host and The Cloud, 2009/10, Courtesy Marian Goodman Gallery, New York and Paris Foto © Ola Rindal
museum in progress/Peter Kogler © museum in progress/Peter Kogler, Foto: Wolfgang Thaler
Franz West, Moonlight, 1998/2001, Dauerleihgabe Dr. Ernst Ploil, Foto © Museum der Moderne Rupertinum, Salzburg
Lois Weinberger, Wild Cube, 2011, Foto © Belvedere, Wien
Ausstellungsansicht, Foto © Belvedere, Wien / Wolfgang Thaler
Oswald Oberhuber, Museum im Museum, 1978, Museum Moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig, Foto © Belvedere, Wien / Wolfgang Thaler

Für die Eröffnung des 21er Haus im Rahmen der Vienna Art Week wurden Künstler eingeladen, Fragen zur gesellschaftlichen und institutionellen Bedeutung des Museums zu stellen und das neue Haus und seine Geschichte zu thematisieren. Jedes einzelne künstlerische Werk nähert sich dem Haus dabei auf individuelle Art und Weise und verwandelt es in ein freies Experimentierfeld, auf dem sich die unterschiedlichen künstlerischen Disziplinen begegnen und überlagern können.

Die Ansätze der Künstler sind dabei breit gefächert: Marcus Geigers Parodie auf staatstragende Repräsentationssymbole lässt Fahnen und rote Teppiche aus ihrem gewohnten Format geraten. Franz West setzt in den von Sonnenlicht durchfluteten Räumen des 21er Haus auf das Mondlicht und dessen besondere Qualitäten. Im Sound-Piece von Florian Hecker erwächst aus einer künstlerischen Kooperation eine Sound-Voice-Chimäre mit halluzinatorischer Wirkung. Während Oswald Oberhuber mit seinem Museum im Museum einen anderen, häufig vergessenen Blick auf die österreichische Kunst eröffnet, thematisiert Christian Philipp Müller in seiner Arbeit Family of Austrians Klischees, die auf Österreich projiziert werden.

Daneben findet sich eine Installation von Peter Kogler zu den Künstlerporträts, die das alternative Museumsprojekt museum in progress seit den 1990er-Jahren produziert. Mit seiner Neonskulptur Struttura al neon per la IX Triennale di Milano öffnet Lucio Fontana den Raum für die vierte Dimension der Architektur, und Sophie Thorsen recherchiert die Geschichte von Spielplastiken, die in den 1950er-Jahren für Wiener Kinderspielplätze konzipiert wurden und als Referenz für eine erweiterte Kunstgeschichtsschreibung dienen. Einen Stock tiefer im Foyer präsentiert Andrea Fraser eine überdreht-hysterische Museumsführung, in der die hochkulturelle Verankerung der Institution Museum persifliert und hinterfragt wird.

Lois Weinberger setzt der gängigen Präsentation im „White Cube“ seinen Wild Cube entgegen, während einige Meter weiter im Museumsshop Heimo Zobernig die Ökonomiesysteme von Kunst und Mode verquickt und mit seinem SALE-T-Shirt die Rolle des Künstlers als Marke thematisiert. Parallel laufen im Kino alte Wochenschauen, die die Geschichte des Hauses vermitteln, sowie eine poetische Illumination des Gebäudes durch Feuerwerke von Sasha Pirker und ein Film von Pierre Huyghe über Potenziale und surreale Geschichten, die sich in einem leer stehenden Museum entfalten könnten. Als Österreich-Premiere wird der Film Hypercrisis von Josef Dabernig aufgeführt, in dem in einem ehemaligen Erholungsheim für sowjetische Filmemacher die Schaffens- und Konzentrationskrisen der letzten verbliebenen Künstler ausagiert werden.

Der Titel Schöne Aussichten! verweist dabei in doppelter Hinsicht auf das neue Museum: Sowohl die Übersetzung des Worts „Belvedere“ als auch die transparente Architektur des 21er Haus, die in alle Richtungen Aussichten eröffnet, finden sich darin wieder.

 

Kuratoren: Bettina Steinbrügge, Cosima Rainer
zurück zur Übersicht
Kontakt
Kunstvermittlung & Besucherservice
Tel.
+43 1 795 57-770
E-Mail
© 2014 Österreichische Galerie Belvedere
Newsletter Anmelden Kontakt Impressum
B2B Tourismus Presse
Lesen Sie mehr...
Ausblenden
Language