Ongoing

Virtual Middle Ages

A New Look at Old Art

This is the Belvedere's first purely digital exhibition: The museum is showcasing the “visible storage” of its medieval collection in Prince Eugene's former stables as a virtual, interactive 3-D showroom. Online visitors are invited to discover the secrets and stories behind the collection, whose earliest works were created around 1200. This selection of works is being introduced, illustrated, and explained.

The project was developed by the Belvedere in collaboration with BEKO Engineering & Informatik GmbH and by art history students from the University of Vienna.

Palace Stables

 

The Project Team

Students from the University of Vienna
Christina Ehmayer, Laura Gerstmann, Anna Maria Kalt, Katharina Lanzinger, Sali Parsa, Valerie Pauß, Sandra Rindler, Polina Tumanova-Litke
Lehrveranstaltungsleiterin: Elisabeth Sobieczky

Belvedere, Vienna
Johanna Aufreiter, Björn Blauensteiner, Christian Huemer, Oliver Khafagi, Susa Wögerbauer

BEKO Engineering & Informatik
Bernhard Sandriester, Marcus Fried

 

Since 2007, a considerable portion of the Belvedere's medieval collection has been housed in the so-called "Palace Stables" – galleries that were formerly stables for the personal horses of Prince Eugene of Savoy. Following the restructuring of the collection and extensive adaptation of the rooms, treasures from the beginning of the 13th to the mid-16th century were displayed in the newly created "visual storage," including such highlights as the medieval majesties from St. Stephen's Cathedral in Vienna (on loan from the Wien Museum), the so-called Pretschlaipfer Triptych by the Master of Grossgmain, and the Stigmatization of St. Francis by Lucas Cranach the Elder.

The Palace Stables are currently undergoing an extensive modernization process. They are therefore not accessible to visitors until the reopening of the Lower Belvedere in January 2022. Together with BEKO Engineering & Informatik GmbH, the Belvedere has developed a 3-D model of its "visual storage." Art history students from the University of Vienna created both multilayered documentation and videos in which the works of artists, mostly unknown by name, including the Master of the Legend Scenes and the Master of the St. Vitus Legend are deciphered. Virtually roam through the space and learn more about the treasures from the Middle Ages!
The virtual exhibition space is embedded here on the website of the Belvedere; videos of individual works may be accessed through YouTube.

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Virtual Tour

Impressions

Dauerausstellung

Mittelalter virtuell

Neuer Blick auf alte Kunst

Es ist die erste rein digitale Ausstellung des Belvedere: Das Museum präsentiert das Schaudepot seiner Mittelaltersammlung in den ehemaligen Stallungen von Prinz Eugen in einem virtuellen, interaktiven 3-D-Schauraum. Online-Besucher_innen sind eingeladen, Geheimnisse und Anekdoten einer Sammlung zu entdecken, deren früheste Werke um das Jahr 1200 entstanden sind. Ausgewählte Arbeiten werden vorgestellt, illustriert und erklärt.

Entwickelt wurde das Projekt des Belvedere gemeinsam mit BEKO Engineering & Informatik GmbH und Studierenden der Kunstgeschichte der Universität Wien.

 

 

Prunkstall

 

Das Projektteam

Studierende der Universität Wien
Christina Ehmayer, Laura Gerstmann, Anna Maria Kalt, Katharina Lanzinger, Sali Parsa, Valerie Pauß, Sandra Rindler, Polina Tumanova-Litke
Lehrveranstaltungsleiterin: Elisabeth Sobieczky

Belvedere, Wien
Johanna Aufreiter, Björn Blauensteiner, Christian Huemer, Oliver Khafagi, Susa Wögerbauer

BEKO Engineering & Informatik
Bernhard Sandriester, Marcus Fried

 

Seit 2007 wird ein großer Teil der Mittelaltersammlung des Belvedere im sogenannten Prunkstall präsentiert. Die Räume waren ehemals Stallungen für die Leibpferde von Prinz Eugen von Savoyen. Nach der Neustrukturierung der Sammlung und einer umfangreichen Adaption der Räumlichkeiten wurden in dem neu geschaffenen Schaudepot Schätze aus der Zeit von ca. 1200 bis zur Mitte des 16. Jahrhunderts gezeigt, darunter Highlights wie die Fürstenfiguren vom Wiener Stephansdom (Leihgaben des Wien Museums), das sogenannte Pretschlaipfer-Triptychon des Meisters von Großgmain oder die Stigmatisation des heiligen Franziskus von Lucas Cranach dem Älteren.

Derzeit wird der Prunkstall – bis zur Wiedereröffnung des Unteren Belvedere im Jänner 2022 – umfassend modernisiert, er ist daher für Besucher_innen nicht zugänglich. Gemeinsam mit BEKO Engineering & Informatik GmbH entwickelte das Belvedere ein 3-D-Modell des Schaudepots. Studierende der Kunstgeschichte der Universität Wien erstellten vielschichtige Dokumentationen und Videos, in denen die Werke häufig namentlich unbekannter Künstler wie des Meisters der Legendenszenen oder des Meisters der Veitslegende entschlüsselt werden. Streifen Sie virtuell durch den Raum und erfahren Sie mehr über die Schätze aus dem Mittelalter!
Der virtuelle Ausstellungsraum ist hier auf der Website des Belvedere eingebettet, einzelne Werkvideos werden auf YouTube präsentiert.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Virtueller Rundgang

Impressionen