Thursday, 9. January - Friday, 10. January 2020

The Art Museum in the Digital Age – 2020

International Conference
© Belvedere, Wien

Following on the success of the 2019 conference, “The Art Museum in the Digital Age,” the Belvedere Research Center will again organize an international conference focusing on the digital transformations effecting art museums. While the 2019 conference was devoted to the actuality of the digital and the questioning of the role of museums in the 21st century, the January 2020 conference will highlight the historical genesis of the digital in museums, from its analog predecessors to the post-digital era.

 

The digital will be observable “only by its absence and not by its presence,” wrote Nicholas Negroponte in 1998 in Beyond Digital, in which he announced the end of the digital revolution. Two years later, the composer Kim Cascone introduced the term “postdigital” as a genre designation for electronic music generated from digital interference signals. The established, yet controversial, concept of the postdigital (age), today designates a condition decisively characterized by the invisible omnipresence of the digital, among other things. Thus the digital functions “as a constitutive actor and integral component of our everyday life,” as Katja Kwastek argued in 2016. In this context, the re-evaluation of the digital becomes a pressing concern, given that the boundaries of the previously strictly dichotomous distinction between analog and digital are becoming increasingly blurred, and we are witnessing growing demands for hybrid forms (analog-digital combinations).

 

The two-day event will bring together interdisciplinary contributions from this point of view, which above all – but not exclusively – reflect on the following subject areas: Museum digital - in retrospect, The participatory museum, the digital image - what about the future?
 

Prof. Dr. Holger Simon (Pausanio Academy, Cologne) has accepted our invitation as keynote speaker.

Period
09:00 - 18:00
09:00 - 18:00
Adresse

Belvedere 21
Arsenalstraße 1
1030 Vienna
Austria

Registration

We look forward to your paper proposals in the fields of museum practice / museology, art and cultural history, media studies, and digital humanities. Please submit your abstracts for a 20-25 minutes presentation in German or English (max. 250 words), including a short biography and complete contact information as one PDF document by August 12, 2019 to: j.aufreiter@belvedere.at

 

 

Travel and accommodation costs can be reimbursed to a limited extent for speakers. Conference participation is free of charge.

 

Language
German
English
Hashtag
#digitalmuseum
Organisers

Johanna Aufreiter

(Österreichische Galerie Belvedere, Vienna)

Miroslav Haľák

(Österreichische Galerie Belvedere, Vienna)

Christian Huemer

(Österreichische Galerie Belvedere, Vienna)

Holger Simon

(Pausanio Academy, Cologne)

Anne Helmreich

(Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles)

 

Conference partner

Museum digital – in retrospective

The postdigital described above presupposes an earlier state. The entry of the digital into the (art) museum can only be understood within a larger historical context:  for example, in debates on science and media theory, the introduction of zero in the Arab region around the year 1000, the dual system developed by Leibniz around 1700, and material innovations (e.g. tabulating machine) are seen as of decisive importance for the emergence of digital technology. But what conditions were necessary for the development of a digital culture in art museums? What precursors existed with regard to media, content, but also cataloguing and categorization as well as systems development and systematization? Furthermore, the question arises as to whether the methodological changes in art history and in museums triggered by the digital can be best described as continuous lines of development, as isolated phenomena, or as a radical paradigm shift?

The participatory museum
Menschen vor Gustav Klimts "Der Kuss"
Foto: Ouriel Morgensztern, © Belvedere, Wien

Originally debated in the United States, the call to allow visitors to participate actively in museum practice and, as a consequence, to free them from “isolation” as mere “passive” recipients, has become increasingly louder in Europe. The concept of participation, however, not only encompasses the idea of visitor engagement within the exhibition space, but also aims at a constantly changing interaction between institution and audience, whereby participation is understood, intentionally or inevitably, as an intervention in existing structures and work processes. Practical guidelines for museums, such as Nina Simon’s publication “Principles of Participation“ from 2010 and theoretical treatises on the subject, such as Anja Piontek’s “Museum and Participation” from 2017, are booming. In some museums, the participatory now appears to belong to everyday practice, especially where the focus is more on the audience. Yet to what extent is this a new phenomenon? The connection to social media seems evident. But could not the efforts of reform pedagogy to open museums to a broad public at the beginning of the 20th century cited by Piontek as well as the 2019 keynote speaker Hubertus Kohle also be mentioned here? Could the increased social orientation of museums around 1968, which was accompanied by institutional critique, be highlighted anew from this point of view? Submissions on this topic could both look back at earlier participatory processes in museums and describe current trends: What historical lines of development can be identified for the concept of the participatory, especially in the field of the digital? Are concepts of participation linked to technical/digital progress, and to what extent does one condition the other? In which contexts were and are aspects of the museum public’s participation to be determined?

And to what extent does participation, both today and in earlier times, mean the dissolution of a distance between the points of the constellation institution, audience and object?

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

The digital image – what about the future?

 

© Belvedere, Wien

In an age of networked technical intelligence, the question of possible instantiations of the digital image once again arises. By being based on a binary sequence of numbers, the digital image eludes both a physically real reference and an unambiguously given dimension, while presenting itself as a flexibly changeable state. One of the potentials of the digital image lies hidden in this processual quality. The manifold possibilities of reproduction, structuring, categorization, contextualization, annotation and archiving of the rapidly expanding flood of images, now increasingly available on the Web, form the starting point for possible questions on this topic. To what extent do digital images elude principles of order (digital disorder & new messiness)? How are they made searchable (in an automated way) today and in the future? What role does the use of artificial intelligence (machine learning) play? And does our perception of the medium “image” change as a result of these new technical possibilities, from the two-dimensional digital surrogate of the analog (virtual semiosis) to virtual & augmented reality environments?

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Program

 

 

DO

9

JAN

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

FR

10

JAN

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

Donnerstag, 9. Januar - Freitag, 10. Januar 2020

Das Kunstmuseum im digitalen Zeitalter – 2020

Internationale Konferenz

Nach dem Erfolg der Konferenz Das Kunstmuseum im digitalen Zeitalter im Jahr 2019 organisiert das Belvedere Research Center erneut eine internationale Konferenz mit Fokus auf der digitalen Transformation in Kunstmuseen. Widmete sich die Konferenz 2019 schwerpunktmäßig der Gegebenheit des Digitalen sowie der Rollenhinterfragung von Museen im 21. Jahrhundert, rückt die Konferenz im Jänner 2020 die historische Genese des Digitalen im Museum von den analogen Vorläufern bis zur postdigitalen Ära in den Mittelpunkt der Debatte.

Das Digitale wird „nur durch seine Abwesenheit und nicht durch seine Anwesenheit bemerkt werden,“ schrieb Nicholas Negroponte 1998 in Beyond Digital und verkündete das Ende der digitalen Revolution. Zwei Jahre später später führte der Komponist Kim Cascone den Begriff „Postdigital“ als Genrebezeichnung elektronischer Musik ein, die aus digitalen Störsignalen generiert wird. Dieses etablierte, wenn auch umstrittene Konzept des Postdigitalen (Zeitalters) bezeichnet heute u.a. jenen Zustand, dessen ausschlaggebendes Charakteristikum die unsichtbare Allgegenwärtigkeit des Digitalen meint. Das Digitale fungiert somit „als konstitutiver Akteur und integraler Bestandteil unseres alltäglichen Lebens“, wie Katja Kwastek 2016 formulierte. In diesem Zusammenhang steht die Neubewertung des Digitalen im Vordergrund, wobei die Grenzen der zuvor meist strikt dichotomen Unterscheidung analog versus digital zunehmend verschwimmen und zugleich mit Forderungen nach hybriden Formen (analog-digitalen Kombinationen) einhergehen.

Die zweitägige Veranstaltung versammelt unter diesem Gesichtspunkt interdisziplinäre Beiträge, die vor allem – aber nicht ausschließlich – folgende Themenbereiche reflektieren: Museum digital – ein Rückblick, Das partizipative Museum, Das digitale Bild – Was bringt die Zukunft?

 

Als Keynote Speaker konnte Prof. Dr. Holger Simon (Pausanio Akademie, Köln) gewonnen werden.

Zeitraum
9:00 - 18:00
9:00 - 18:00
Adresse

Belvedere 21
Arsenalstraße 1
1030 Wien
Österreich

Anmeldung

Wir freuen uns über Ihre Themenvorschläge aus den Bereichen Museum/Museologie, Kunst- und Kulturgeschichte, Medienwissenschaft und Digital Humanities. Bitte senden Sie Ihre Abstracts für einen 20-25 minütigen Vortrag in Deutsch oder Englisch (max. 250 Wörter), einschließlich einer kurzen Biographie inklusive vollständiger Kontaktinformationen zusammengefasst als ein PDF-Dokument bis 12. August 2019 an: j.aufreiter@belvedere.at

 

 

Reise- und Übernachtungskosten können für die Vortragenden in begrenztem Umfang erstattet werden. Die Teilnahme an der Konferenz ist kostenlos.

 

Sprache
Deutsch
Englisch
Hashtag
#digitalmuseum
Veranstalter

Johanna Aufreiter

(Österreichische Galerie Belvedere, Vienna)

Miroslav Haľák

(Österreichische Galerie Belvedere, Vienna)

Christian Huemer

(Österreichische Galerie Belvedere, Vienna)

Holger Simon

(Pausanio Academy, Cologne)

Anne Helmreich

(Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles)

 

Conference partner

Museum digital – ein Rückblick

Der hier beschriebene Zustand des Postdigitalen setzt frühere Formen voraus. Der Einzug des Digitalen im (Kunst)Museum kann nur als Teil eines größeren historischen Kontexts gelesen werden: So werden etwa in wissenschafts- und medientheoretischen Debatten die Einführung der Null im arabischen Raum um das Jahr 1000, das von Leibniz um 1700 entwickelte Dualsystem sowie materielle Erneuerungen (z.B. tabulating machine) von entscheidender Bedeutung für die Hervorbringung der Digitaltechnik gesehen. Doch welche Voraussetzungen waren für die Entwicklung einer digitalen Kultur im Museum vonnöten? Welche Vorläufer gab es in Bezug auf Medien, Inhalte, aber auch Kategorisierungen und Systematisierungen? Des Weiteren stellt sich die Frage, ob die durch das Digitale ausgelösten methodischen Veränderungen am besten als fortlaufende Entwicklungslinien, vereinzelte Phänomene oder als einschneidender Paradigmenwechsel zu beschreiben sind?

Das partizipative Museum
Menschen vor Gustav Klimts "Der Kuss"
Foto: Ouriel Morgensztern, © Belvedere, Wien

Ursprünglich von den USA ausgehend, ertönt in den vergangenen Jahren auch im europäischen Raum der zunehmend lauter werdende Ruf an die Museen, dem Publikum Teilhabe an der Museumsarbeit zu gewähren und es somit aus seiner „Isolation“ als „passiver“ Rezipient zu befreien. Das Konzept des Partizipativen umfasst jedoch nicht allein den Gedanken der Interaktion des Besuchers/der Besucherin im Ausstellungsraum, sondern zielt auf einen stetig wechselnden Austausch zwischen Institution und Publikum, womit gewollt oder zwangsläufig Partizipation auch als Eingriff in bestehende Strukturen und Arbeitsabläufe zu verstehen ist. Praxisleitfäden für Museen, wie Nina Simons Publikation Principles of Participation von 2010 sowie theoretische Abhandlungen zum Thema wie Anja Pionteks Museum und Partizipation von 2017 feiern diesbezüglich Hochkonjunktur. In einigen Museen erscheint das Partizipative mittlerweile der alltäglichen Praxis zugehörig, insbesondere dort, wo die Publikumsorientierung stärker in den Vordergrund rückt. Doch inwiefern handelt es sich hierbei um ein neues Phänomen? Die Verbindung zu sozialen Medien scheint evident. Doch wären nicht auch die von Piontek sowie dem vorjährigen Keynote Speaker Hubertus Kohle genannten Bestrebungen der Reformpädagogik am Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts Museen für ein breites Publikum zu öffnen hier zu nennen? Oder ist die um 1968 mit der Institutionskritik einhergehende verstärkte soziale Ausrichtung der Museen unter diesem Gesichtspunkt neu zu beleuchten? Einreichungen zu diesem Themenbereich können sowohl einen Blick zurück auf frühere partizipative Prozesse im Museum werfen als auch aktuelle Tendenzen beschreiben:

Welche historischen Entwicklungslinien sind für das Konzept des Partizipativen insbesondere im Bereich des Digitalen zu benennen? Sind Partizipationskonzepte an den technischen/digitalen Fortschritt gekoppelt, inwieweit bedingt das eine das andere? In welchen Kontexten waren und sind Aspekte der Teilhabe des Museumpublikums festzumachen? Und inwiefern bedeutet Partizipation sowohl heute als auch in früheren Zeiten die Auflösung distanzbasierender Konstellationen zwischen Institution, Publikum und Objekt?

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Das digitale Bild – Was bringt die Zukunft?

 

© Belvedere, Wien

In einer Zeit der vernetzten technischen Intelligenz stellt sich erneut die Frage nach möglichen Entitäten des digitalen Bildes. Das digitale Bild entzieht sich, indem es auf einer binären Zahlenfolge basiert, sowohl einem physisch realen Bezug als auch einer eindeutig gegebenen Größe und stellt sich als flexibel veränderbarer Zustand dar. In dieser Eigenschaft der Prozesshaftigkeit liegt eines der Potentiale des digitalen Bildes verborgen. Die vielfältigen Möglichkeiten der Reproduktion, Strukturierung, Kategorisierung, Kontextualisierung, Annotation und Archivierung der sich rasant erweiternden und verfügbaren Bilderflut im Web bieten die Ausgangsbasis für mögliche Fragestellungen zu diesem Themenbereich. Inwieweit entziehen sich digitale Bilder Ordnungsprinzipien (digitale Unordnung & neue Messiness), wie werden sie heute und in Zukunft (automatisiert) durchsuchbar gemacht? Welche Rolle spielt dabei der Einsatz künstlicher Intelligenz (machine learning)? Und ändert sich unsere Wahrnehmung vom Medium Bild durch diese neuen technischen Möglichkeiten, vom zweidimensionalen digitalen Surrogat des analogen Werks (virtuelle Semiose) bis zu Virtual & Augmented Reality-Umgebungen?

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Programm

 

 

DO

9

JAN

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

FR

10

JAN

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4