Open Content

As the first art museum in Austria, the Belvedere is committed to an Open Content Policy for images of art works no longer protected by copyright. These images are made available in print quality and free of charge via the Belvedere Website. The possibility to download high-quality images is intended to increase the collection’s international visibility and to facilitate scholarly publishing.

Research Center Innenansicht
Foto: Clemens Niederhammer, © Belvedere, Wien
FAQs
 

Which media are freely available for download?

About half of the Belvedere collection is accessible online. Expansion of the available content is ongoing. Shared data is licensed under Creative Commons and free to use. All works whose copyright protection has already expired are gradually made available in a resolution that is generally sufficient for publication purposes (3508 px on the longest edge at 300 dpi). Protected works - such as works by artists who died less than 70 years ago - are subject to copyright law. In these cases, it is necessary to clarify the rights for use of such images with the Belvedere Research Center’s Reproduction & Picture Library: repro@belvedere.at

 

See all media

 

 

How to obtain images in higher resolution?

Images in higher resolution can be requested from the Belvedere Research Center’s Reproduction & Picture Library (repro@belvedere.at) by providing the following information: intended use / type of application, desired resolution of the file, and size of the image / reproduction. User agreement will be issued after an internal review, then a secure download link will be sent.

 

Which Creative Commons license is used?

Images of the Belvedere are subject to the Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International License (CC BY-SA 4.0). This license allows free usage of images for any kind of publication as well as their free (artistic) editing or manipulation as long as the provided credits are indicated. The license also includes commercial use.

 

 

How to obtain images that are not part of the Open Content Program?

Images that are not freely available online can be requested directly from Belvedere Research Center’s Reproduction & Picture Library (repro@belvedere.at). For works which are subject to copyright law, the user is required to clear the rights. The Belvedere assumes no responsibility for the rights of third parties. If the Belvedere holds the necessary rights to a specific image, they will be gladly provided upon request.

 

 

Was bedeutet IIIF (International Image Interoperability Framework)?

IIIF is a tool that offers new possibilities for the extended use of digital images: It eases the dissemination, transfer, and analysis of visual media and allows for the direct comparison of images from other repositories that also use this format. For more information, please visit the IIIF Website: http://iiif.io/

 

How does the download of images work and where are the photo credits to be found?

Images can be obtained by simply pressing the download button. Information about the image, the copyright and a note about the license can also be found directly in the preview setting. Prior to the download one of following use cases has to be selected:

Personal Use: If the image is used exclusively for personal purposes, please select the option "Private Nutzung". In this case an immediate transferal to the file download will take place.

Publication: If the image from the Belvedere collection is intended for publication, please select the option "Publikation / Kommerzielle Nutzung" and fill out the emerging online form. This form is for internal documentation purposes only.

Sole condition for free use of images in publications is the delivery of a copy to the Belvedere library. Agreement to this condition occurs by mouse click. Shipment of a copy to the following address:

Österreichische Galerie Belvedere
Research Center
Prinz-Eugen-Straße 27
1030 Wien

 

Inhalt 4

Open Content

Als erstes Kunstmuseum Österreichs bekennt sich das Belvedere zu einer Open Content Policy bei Abbildungen von urheberrechtsfreien Kunstwerken. Diese werden auf der Webseite in Druckqualität kostenfrei zum Download zur Verfügung gestellt. Damit werden die internationale Sichtbarkeit der Sammlung erhöht und wissenschaftliche Publikationsprojekte unterstützt.

Research Center Innenansicht
Foto: Clemens Niederhammer, © Belvedere, Wien
FAQs
 

Welche Medien stehen zum Download frei zur Verfügung?

Etwa die Hälfte der Belvedere Sammlung ist online zugänglich, an der Erweiterung der Inhalte wird laufend gearbeitet. Freigegebene Daten unterliegen einer Creative Commons Lizenz und können frei verwendet werden.
Werke, deren urheberrechtlicher Schutz abgelaufen ist, stehen im Zuge des Open Content Programms zum Download zur Verfügung. Die Auflösung ist für Publikationszwecke ausreichend (3508 px auf der längsten Seite bei 300 dpi).
Geschützte Werke – z.B. Arbeiten von Künstler_innen, deren Tod weniger als 70 Jahre zurückliegt – unterliegen dem Urheberrechtsgesetz. In diesen Fällen bedarf es einer Klärung der notwendigen Rechte zur Verwendung der Bilddaten mit der Reproabteilung des Belvedere Research Center: repro@belvedere.at

 

Alle Medien ansehen

 

 

Wie können Bilddateien in höherer Auflösung bezogen werden?

Bilddateien in höherer Auflösung können in der Reproabteilung des Belvedere Research Center unter Angabe folgender Informationen beantragt werden: Verwendungszweck oder Art der Anwendung, gewünschte Auflösung der Datei und Größe der Abbildung/Reproduktion. Nutzungsvereinbarung wird nach einer internen Prüfung ausgestellt, daraufhin wird ein sicherer Download-Link versandt.

 

Welche Creative Commons Lizenz kommt zur Anwendung?

Die Bilddaten des Belvedere unterliegen der Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International-Lizenz (CC BY-SA 4.0). Diese Lizenz umfasst die freie Verwendung der Bilddaten zu jeglicher Art von Veröffentlichung und freier (künstlerischer) Bearbeitung bzw. Umgestaltung unter Angabe der angeführten Credits. Die Lizenz schließt auch kommerzielle Nutzung mit ein.

 

 

Wie können Bilder bezogen werden, die nicht Teil des Open Content-Programms sind?

Bilder, die nicht frei verfügbar sind, können direkt über die Reproabteilung des Belvedere Research Center beantragt werden. Bei Werken, die dem Urheberrechtsgesetz unterliegen, müssen die entsprechenden Werknutzungsrechte vom Nutzer selbst geklärt werden. Das Belvedere übernimmt keine Verantwortung für die Rechte Dritter. Sofern die nötigen Rechte an den entsprechenden Bilddaten beim Belvedere liegen, werden sie auf Anfrage gerne zur Verfügung gestellt.

 

 

Was bedeutet IIIF (International Image Interoperability Framework)?

Das IIIF ist ein Tool, das neue Möglichkeiten zur erweiterten Verwendung der Bilddaten anbietet: Es dient der unkomplizierten Verbreitung, Übermittlung sowie Analyse von visuellen Medien und dem direkten Vergleich mit Bildern von anderen Institutionen, die dieses Format ebenfalls benutzen. Nähere Informationen finden sich auf der IIIF-Website: iiif.io

 

Wie funktioniert der Download der Bilder und wo sind die anzuführenden Fotocredits zu finden?

Bilddaten können einfach über den Download-Button heruntergeladen werden. Informationen zum Bild, das Copyright sowie der Hinweis zur Lizenz sind ebenfalls direkt in der Monitorvorschau zu finden. Vor dem Download ist unter folgenden Nutzungsmöglichkeiten auszuwählen:
Private Nutzung: Wenn ein Bild ausschließlich für den persönlichen Gebrauch verwendet wird, bitte die Option „Private Nutzung“ wählen. Daraufhin erfolgt die direkte Weiterleitung zum Download der Datei.

Veröffentlichung: Ist die Publikation eines Bildes aus dem Bestand des Belvedere geplant, bitte die Option „Veröffentlichung / Kommerzielle Nutzung“ wählen und das erscheinende Formular ausfüllen. Dieses dient ausschließlich internen dokumentarischen Zwecken.

Einzige Bedingung für die freie Verwendung der Bilder in Publikationen ist die Zusendung eines Belegexemplars für die Bibliothek des Belvedere.

Zustimmung per Mausklick und Zusendung eines Exemplars an folgende Adresse:
Österreichische Galerie Belvedere
Research Center
Prinz-Eugen-Straße 27
1030 Wien

 

Inhalt 4