-

Elena Luksch-Makowsky

IN-SIGHT

The rediscovery of the women artists of Viennese Modernism began in early 2019 with the City of Women exhibition at the Lower Belvedere. In 2020, the Belvedere continues this trajectory by dedicating an IN-SIGHT exhibition to Elena Luksch-Makowsky, one of the central protagonists of this period. At the beginning of the 20th century works by the artist were to be found in all major Viennese art institutions and media – including Ver Sacrum, Wiener Werkstätte, Secession, and Galerie Miethke.

Curator: Alexander Klee.

Upper Belvedere

Address

Upper Belvedere
Prinz Eugen-Straße 27
1030 Vienna
Austria

The Artist
Elena Luksch-Makowsky, Ver Sacrum, self portrait with son Peter, 1901
Photo: Johannes Stoll © Belvedere, Vienna

Elena Luksch-Makowsky was born in 1878 into a wealthy Saint Petersburg artist family. At an early age she came into contact with numerous artists and traveled with her mother through Europe. She studied first in Saint Petersburg, then in Munich, with her artistic breakthrough occurring in the fall of 1898 during a stay in Dachau. In 1900, she married the Viennese sculptor Richard Luksch. Initially her style was influenced by the Peredvizhniki group, an artist cooperative to which her father's work was attributed. She soon abandoned this style, however, and turned to the Neu-Dachau painters and, through her brother, established close contacts with the artists of the St. Petersburg avant-garde. Luksch-Makowsky participated in Secession exhibitions in 1901, 1902, and 1903. Later, in 1911, the artist, now based in Hamburg, collaborated with the Wiener Werkstätte. In the years that lay between, she expanded her connections to and within Russia, enriching her own artistic oeuvre as well as that of the Vienna Secession’s through a channel of significance heretofore untapped. The show at the Belvedere places a particular focus on this aspect of her biography.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Zur Ausstellung

 

 

The exhibition is designed as a continuation of the large-scale City of Women group show of 2019 at the Lower Belvedere – by placing the spotlight on one of the artists presented in 2019, the career of a key figure of Viennese Modernism is traced. The first monographic catalogue of Elena Luksch-Makowsky’s work will accompany the exhibition.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

IN-SIGHT

 

The IN-SIGHT exhibition series at the Upper Belvedere is held three times a year and focuses on unique features of the museum's own collection. Works of art are examined from a new scientific point of view and presented to the public. 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Other exhibitions

-

Elena Luksch-Makowsky

IM BLICK

Sie begann Anfang des Jahres 2019 im Unteren Belvedere mit der Ausstellung Stadt der Frauen: die Wiederentdeckung von Künstlerinnen der Wiener Moderne. 2020 setzt das Belvedere seinen Weg fort und widmet mit Elena Luksch-Makowsky einer der zentralen Protagonistinnen dieser Epoche eine IM BLICK-Ausstellung. Werke der Künstlerin fanden sich Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts in allen wesentlichen Wiener Kunststätten und Medien – Ver Sacrum, Wiener Werkstätte, Secession oder Galerie Miethke.

Kuratiert von Alexander Klee.

Tickets

Oberes Belvedere

Öffnungszeiten
Montag bis Sonntag
10 bis 18 Uhr
Adresse

Oberes Belvedere
Prinz Eugen-Straße 27
1030 Wien
Österreich

Zur Künstlerin

Elena Luksch-Makowsky, Ver Sacrum, Selbstporträt mit Sohn Peter, 1901
Foto: Johannes Stoll © Belvedere, Wien

Elena Luksch-Makowsky wurde 1878 in eine wohlhabende Sankt Petersburger Künstlerfamilie geboren. Früh kam sie mit zahlreichen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern in Kontakt und reiste mit ihrer Mutter durch Europa. Sie studierte erst in Sankt Petersburg, dann in München. Im Jahr 1900 heiratete sie den Wiener Bildhauer Richard Luksch. Erste künstlerische Erfolge feierte sie während ihrer Zeit in Dachau im Herbst 1898. Zu Beginn noch der Kunst der Peredwischniki verhaftet, der das Schaffen ihres Vaters zugerechnet wurde, distanzierte sie sich bald davon, wendete sich den Neu-Dachauer Malern zu und knüpfte über ihren Bruder enge Kontakte zur Petersburger Avantgarde. Sie beteiligte sich an wichtigen Ausstellungen der Secession in den Jahren 1901, 1902 und 1903. Später, im Jahr 1911, arbeitete die damals schon in Hamburg wohnende Künstlerin mit der Wiener Werkstätte zusammen. Dazwischen lagen Jahre, in denen sie ihre Verbindungen nach und in Russland ausbaute, was das Œuvre der Künstlerin wie auch das der Wiener Secession um eine maßgebliche, aber bislang kaum beachtete Facetten bereicherte. Auf diesen Aspekt ihrer Biografie legt die Schau im Belvedere einen speziellen Fokus.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Zur Ausstellung

 

Die Ausstellung versteht sich als Weiterführung der großen Schau Stadt der Frauen im Jahr 2019 im Unteren Belvedere. Sie greift eine der damals präsentierten Künstlerinnen heraus und verfolgt deren Werdegang hin zu einer der Schlüsselfiguren der Wiener Moderne. Begleitend zur Ausstellung erscheint der erste monografische Katalog zu Elena Luksch-Makowsky.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

IM BLICK

 

In der Reihe IM BLICK werden dreimal im Jahr im Oberen Belvedere spezielle Aspekte der hauseigenen Sammlung beleuchtet. Kunstwerke werden unter neuen wissenschaftlichen Gesichtspunkten analysiert und der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert. 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

Termine
Weitere Ausstellungen