Research Center

Research into Austrian art history is one of the key objectives of the Belvedere. The federal museum is defined as a scientific institution under public law. In practice, this translates into three focal areas: the curators' applied research, the Research Center’s activities in cataloging and processing key source documents of Austrian art history, and the restoration of the objects in the collection. The latter’s preservation and care are performed based on new scientific findings and technological analyses.

Zeichnung von drei Personen
Josef Dobrowsky, Lehrstunde, 1934 © Belvedere, Wien

Search

Where to search
The collections of the Austrian Gallery Belvedere are globally searchable with the Belvedere research function. Search for publications, archive holdings, or digital resources from the Belvedere Research Center and Ursula Blickle Video Archive, as well as for objects in the museum's collections.

Research

Library and Archive

Publications

Image Archive and Reproductions

The Image Archive has compiled and preserves some 30,000 analog images, as well as archives digital image material. The inventory includes images of: objects from the museum collection, Austrian artistic production, interior and exterior views of the palace, exhibition views, and portraits. In addition, the Image Archive administers image rights for the collection and is the point of contact for any reproduction inquiries.

 

 

Reproduction Fees

(for materials not designated under the Open Content Program)

JPG, up to DIN A4
300 dpi

Free of charge

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

TIFF, larger than DIN A4
300 dpi

€ 500,00

(excl. 10% VAT)

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Photo Order Fees

 

New Photography

€ 250,00

(excl. 10% VAT)

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

Scan of archival material

€ 50,00

(excl. 10% VAT)

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Inquiries and Contact

Inhalt 4

Getting there

 

Adress

Rennweg 4, 1030 Vienna

Getting there

Tram 71
Station "Am Heumarkt"

Tram D
Station "Gußhaustraße"

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Opening hours

Tuesday to Thursday
10 am - 3 pm

 

(We look forward to your visit with a FFP2 mask and pre-registration.)

Free use

A copying machine is available, which enables the production of copies for a fee or the free production and storage of scans on USB.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

Contact

 

Contact

 

Inhalt 4

Inhalt 4

 

Inhalt 4

Research Center

Die Forschung zur österreichischen Kunstgeschichte ist eine der Kernaufgaben des Belvedere. Das Bundesmuseum ist als wissenschaftliche Anstalt öffentlichen Rechts definiert. Daraus ergeben sich in der Praxis drei Schwerpunkte: die Forschung der Kurator*innen zu internationalen Themen der Kunstgeschichte, die Tätigkeit des Research Center zur Erschließung und Aufarbeitung zentraler Quellendokumente zur Kunst in Österreich sowie die Restaurierung und Konservierung des umfangreichen Bestands der Kunstsammlung.

Zeichnung von drei Personen
Josef Dobrowsky, Lehrstunde, 1934 © Belvedere, Wien

Recherche

Ort der Suche
Mit der Belvedere Recherche sind die Sammlungen der Österreichischen Galerie Belvedere global durchsuchbar. Recherchieren Sie nach Druckschriften, Archivbeständen und digitalen Ressourcen des Belvedere Research Centers und Ursula Blickle Video Archivs sowie nach Sammlungsobjekten des Museums.

Forschung

Bibliothek und Archive

Publikationen

Bildarchiv und Reproduktionen

Das Bildarchiv sammelt und verwahrt in etwa 30.000 analoge Bildmedien und archiviert digitales Bildmaterial. Der Bestand umfasst Reproduktionen von Objekten aus der musealen Sammlung sowie des österreichischen Kunstschaffens, Innen- und Außenansichten des Schlosses, Ausstellungsansichten und Portraitaufnahmen. Das Bildarchiv verwaltet zudem die Bildrechte des Bestandes und ist Ansprechpartner für Reproduktionsanfragen.

 

 

Preise für Repros

(außerhalb des Open Content Programms)

JPG, bis DIN A4
300 dpi

kostenfrei

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

TIFF, über DIN A4
300 dpi

€ 500,00

(exkl. 10% MwSt.)

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Preise für Fotoaufträge

 

Neuaufnahme

€ 250,00

(exkl. 10% MwSt.)

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

Scan von Archivmaterial

€ 50,00

(exkl. 10% MwSt.)

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Anfragen und Kontakt

Inhalt 4

Öffnungszeiten und Anreise

 

Adresse

Rennweg 4, 1030 Wien

Anreise

Straßenbahn 71
Station "Am Heumarkt"

Straßenbahn D
Station "Gußhaustraße"

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Öffnungszeiten Lesesaal

Dienstag bis Donnerstag
10 bis 15 Uhr

 

(Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch mit FFP2-Maske und Voranmeldung.)

Kostenfreie Benutzung

Im Benützungsbereich steht ein Kopiergerät zur Verfügung, das die Herstellung von Kopien gegen Gebühr bzw. das kostenlose Anfertigen und Abspeichern von Scans auf USB ermöglicht.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

Kontakt

 

 

Inhalt 4

 

 

Inhalt 4

 

 

Inhalt 4