-

Klimt. Inspired by Rodin, Van Gogh, Matisse...

Who inspired Gustav Klimt, the great master of Viennese Modernism? How familiar was he with Vincent van Gogh? Had he ever seen a work by Henri Matisse? The collaborative exhibition between the Belvedere in Vienna and the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam follows a trail that starts with Klimt’s artistic forerunners and leads to his contemporaries. In striking juxtaposition, the show displays works by Klimt, Van Gogh, Matisse, and many others. 

 

Curated by:
Belvedere, Vienna
Markus Fellinger

Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam
Edwin Becker
Renske Suijver 

Tickets

Lower Belvedere

Opening Hours
Currently
closed
Address

Lower Belvedere
Rennweg 6
1030 Vienna
Austria

The Exhibition

 

Klimt. Inspired by Rodin, Van Gogh, Matisse … is the result of close collaboration between the Belvedere and the Van Gogh Museum, where the exhibition will be on view in 2020. In 2021, the Lower Belvedere will open a comprehensive presentation dedicated to prominent international artists who influenced the work of Gustav Klimt. Comparisons, carefully chosen, of his paintings with artworks that verifiably inspired him bring about intriguing encounters with works by Alma-Tadema, MacDonald-Macintosh, Toorop, and Whistler as well as Monet and Rodin, van Gogh and Matisse. The show features about 80 paintings, drawings, and sculptures from Gustav Klimt and other artists. 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

The Research Project

 

Since 2015, the Belvedere in Vienna and the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam have been working together on an extensive research project aimed at ascertaining which works by relevant artists Klimt encountered in his lifetime. Major exhibition venues such as the Secession and the Miethke Gallery were thoroughly scrutinized in order to reconstruct the arrival of international modern art in Vienna that occurred at the turn of the century. Lesser-known institutions and notable private collections within Austria such as those of Carl Reininghaus or the Wittgenstein family were also investigated. Based on references made to his exhibition and gallery visits, Klimt’s travels too were carefully traced. Information regarding the day’s perception of art was supplemented with exhibition reviews and critiques found in newspapers and magazines such as the Neue Freie Presse and Ver Sacrum

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

-

Klimt. Inspired by Rodin, Van Gogh, Matisse...

Wer inspirierte Gustav Klimt, den großen Meister der Wiener Moderne? Wie gut war ihm Vincent van Gogh bekannt? Sah er jemals ein Bild von Henri Matisse? Die gemeinsame Ausstellung des Belvedere Wien und des Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam verfolgt die Spuren zurück zu Klimts künstlerischen Wegbereiterinnen und -begleitern. Sie zeigt Werke von Klimt, van Gogh, Matisse und vielen anderen in eindrucksvollen Gegenüberstellungen. 

 

Kurator_innen:
Belvedere, Wien
Markus Fellinger

Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam
Edwin Becker
Renske Suijver 

Unteres Belvedere

Öffnungszeiten
Derzeit
geschlossen
Adresse

Unteres Belvedere
Rennweg 6
1030 Wien
Österreich

Die Ausstellung

 

Klimt. Inspired by Rodin, Van Gogh, Matisse … entstand in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Van Gogh Museum, in dem die Ausstellung 2020 erstmals zu sehen sein wird. 2021 zeigt das Untere Belvedere die umfassende Präsentation. Die ausgewählten Vergleiche der Bilder von Gustav Klimt mit Kunstwerken, die ihn nachweislich inspiriert haben, ermöglichen spannungsvolle Konfrontationen mit Werken von Alma-Tadema, MacDonald-Macintosh, Toorop und Whistler, sowie Monet und Rodin bis hin zu van Gogh und Matisse. Sie zeigt etwa achtzig Gemälde, Zeichnungen und Skulpturen von Gustav Klimt und anderen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern. 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Das Forschungsprojekt

 

Seit 2015 gibt es zum Thema der Ausstellung ein umfangreiches Forschungsprojekt des Belvedere in Wien und des Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam. Um die Ankunft internationaler moderner Kunst in Wien zur Jahrhundertwende zu rekonstruieren, wurden größere Ausstellungsorte der damaligen Zeit wie die Secession oder die Galerie Miethke gründlich untersucht. Daneben wurden auch weniger bekannte Einrichtungen und bedeutende österreichische Privatsammlungen wie die von Carl Reininghaus oder jene der Familie Wittgenstein erforscht. Anhand von Hinweisen auf Ausstellungs- und Galeriebesuche wurde Klimts Reisetätigkeit nachvollzogen. Aufschluss über die zeitgenössische Kunstrezeption gaben ergänzend dazu die Ausstellungsrezensionen und -kritiken in Zeitungen und Zeitschriften wie Neue Freie Presse und Ver Sacrum

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4