Friday, 29 November - Saturday, 30 November 2019

Why we are family. The coexistence of species

In 2019 the series of events Joint Ventures is asking what the good life—what good coexistence—looks like. Presentations, talks, discussions, readings, and performances are all dedicated to themes of communality.

The program on November 29 and 30 revolves around why we are all related. The feminist theorist Donna Haraway has proclaimed the Chthulucene, an age that centers around the life of all species and creatures and their coexistence. Kinship and relationships should be seen in a new light and cross the species divide. International contributors will shine a spotlight on this topic from the perspectives of art, ecology, feminism, and activism, focusing on pressing challenges like the climate crisis and artistic strategies of dealing with it.

Address

Belvedere 21
Arsenalstraße 1
1030 Vienna
Austria

Registration

 

Ticket

 

Admission free
Limited seating

Language
Deutsch
Englisch
Hashtag
#JointVentures21
Organisers

Christiane Erharter
Claudia Slanar (Blickle Kino)

Screening and discussion
 

Screening and discussion at the Blickle Kino

Friday, 29 November 2019 | 6.30 pm to 9 pm

Tejal Shah, Between the Waves, channel 3, 2012, Videostill

A program of films at the Blickle Kino on Friday evening prepare us for Saturday’s topics. There will be screenings of older and more recent video works by the Indian filmmaker and artist Tejal Shah, as well as by the US American filmmaker and theorist Angela Anderson. Both explore nonbinary approaches in ecology, feminism, and subject theory in their work.

 

Followed by a talk with the filmmakers and a discussion about contemporary artistic research’s interest in ecology, environmental topics, and activism with Nina Tabassomi. Tabassomi is the curator and director of the Taxispalais Kunsthalle Tirol and recently hosted the exhibition Ecocinema in Innsbruck.

 

Ticket

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Program
 

Program at the Belvedere 21

Saturday, 30 November  2019 | 11 am to 6 pm

 

Event in German and English

 

 

The day begins with a talk by Elisabeth von Samsonow. The philosopher, artist, and professor at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna will speak about the coexistence of species and the relevance of ecofeminism. Then the artist duo RESANITA (Anita Fuchs and Resa Pernthaller, Graz and Vienna) shows their results on plant research and biodiversity.

After a joint lunch break, Michaela Moser, social expert and professor at the UAS St. Pölten, will talk about the organization of communal forms of living and present the Viennese housing project Wohnprojekt Wien (Verein für nachhaltiges Leben).

Then the filmmaker and artist Tejal Shah (Delhi) will present a performative lecture about her work and research on cross-species relationships and ecofeminism in the context of Buddhist philosophy. Afterwards an artist talk takes place, conducted by Ruby Sircar (Vienna). This is followed by a presentation by the Institute of Anxiety. Edith Jeřábková (Prague) will speak about art and activism as strategies for tackling the climate crisis.

After a short break Karin Harrasser, media and cultural scholar and professor at the University of Art and Design Linz, will introduce us to the work of the feminist theorist and emirate professor of the University of California, Santa Cruz Donna Haraway. Harrasser will speak about translating Staying with the Trouble: Making Kin in the Chthulucene into German and the mesh of references that she unraveled in the process. The program will conclude with a Skype conversation between Donna Haraway and Karin Harrasser.

 

Ticket

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

Program

 

 

XXXX

11 am

XXXX

Talk

The Coexistence of Species and the Relevance of Ecofeminism

Elisabeth von Samsonow

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

XXXX

Noon

XXXX

Presentation

RESANITA: www.resanita.at

Anita Fuchs and Resa Pernthaller

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

XXXX

1 pm

XXXX

Joint lunch break

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

XXXX

2 pm

XXXX

Talk and Presentation

Wohnprojekt Wien: www.wohnprojekt.wien

Michaela Moser 

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

XXXX

4 pm

XXXX

Performative Lecture

Tejal Shah and artist talk, conducted by Ruby Sircar

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

XXXX

4 pm

XXXX

Presentation

„Institute of Anxiety“: www.institutuzkosti.cz

Edith Jeřábková

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

XXXX

5 pm

XXXX

Break

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

XXXX

5.30 pm

XXXX

Introduction

Karin Harrasser to the German translation of Staying with the Trouble: Making Kin in the Chthulucene

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

XXXX

6.15 pm

XXXX

Skype conversation

with Donna Haraway, conducted by Karin Harrasser

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

XXXX

7 pm

XXXX

Conclusion

and get-together with music on the Karl Schwanzer piano

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

Freitag, 29. November - Samstag, 30. November 2019

Warum wir alle Familie sind. Die Koexistenz der Arten.

Die Veranstaltungsreihe Gemeinsame Wagnisse fragt im Jahr 2019 nach dem guten (Zusammen-)Leben. Präsentationen, Vorträge, Diskussionen, Lesungen und Performances sind Themen der Gemeinschaftlichkeit gewidmet.

Das Programm am 29. und 30. November dreht sich um die Frage, warum wir alle Familie sind. Die feministische Theoretikerin Donna Haraway ruft mit dem Chthuluzän ein Zeitalter aus, in dem das Leben aller Arten und Kreaturen und deren Koexistenz im Zentrum stehen. Verwandtschaften sollen neu gedacht werden, Beziehungen artenübergreifend sein. Internationale Expert_innen beleuchten das Thema aus den Perspektiven von Kunst, Ökologie, Feminismus und Aktivismus. Dabei geht es etwa um ganz aktuelle Herausforderungen wie den Klimawandel und um künstlerische Strategien, damit umzugehen.

Zeitraum

18:30 - 21:00
11:00 - 18:00

Adresse

Belvedere 21
Arsenalstraße 1
1030 Wien
Österreich

Anmeldung

 

Ticket

 

Veranstaltungen kostenlos
Begrenzte Teilnehmer_innenzahl

Sprache
Deutsch
Englisch
Hashtag
#JointVentures21
Veranstalter

Christiane Erharter
Claudia Slanar (Blickle Kino)

Screening und Diskussion
 

Screening und Diskussion im Blickle Kino

Freitag, 29. November 2019 | 18.30 bis 21.30 Uhr

Tejal Shah, Between the Waves, channel 3, 2012, Videostill

Bereits am Freitagabend stimmt ein Filmprogramm im Blickle Kino auf die Themen des Samstags ein. Gezeigt werden ältere und neuere Videoarbeiten der indischen Filmemacherin und Künstlerin Tejal Shah sowie der US-amerikanischen Filmemacherin und Theoretikerin Angela Anderson. Beide setzen sich in ihren Werken mit nichtbinären Ansätzen in Ökologie, Feminismus und Subjekttheorie auseinander.

 

Im Anschluss finden ein Publikumsgespräch mit den Filmemacherinnen sowie eine Diskussion zum Interesse aktueller künstlerischer Forschung an Ökologie, Umweltthemen und Aktivismus mit Nina Tabassomi statt. Tabassomi ist Kuratorin und Direktorin des Taxispalais Kunsthalle Tirol in Innsbruck, wo sie kürzlich die Ausstellung Ökokino gezeigt hat.

 

Ticket

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Programm
 

Programm im Belvedere 21

Samstag, 30. November 2019 | 11 bis 20 Uhr

 

Veranstaltung in deutscher und englischer Sprache

 

 

Der Tag beginnt mit einem Vortrag von Elisabeth von Samsonow. Die Philosophin, Künstlerin und Professorin an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien spricht über die Koexistenz der Arten und die Relevanz des Ökofeminismus. Danach zeigt das Künstlerduo RESANITA (Anita Fuchs und Resa Pernthaller, Graz und Wien) seine Ergebnisse zu Pflanzenrecherchen und Biodiversität.

Nach einer gemeinsamen Mittagspause spricht Michaela Moser, Sozialexpertin und Professorin an der FH St. Pölten, über die Organisation gemeinschaftlicher Wohnformen und stellt das Wohnprojekt Wien (Verein für nachhaltiges Leben) vor.

Die Filmemacherin und Künstlerin Tejal Shah (Delhi) setzt das Programm mit einem performativen Vortrag über ihre Arbeiten und Forschungen zu artenübergreifenden Beziehungen und Ökofeminismus im Kontext buddhistischer Philosophie fort. Im Anschluss daran findet ein Gespräch mit Ruby Sircar (Wien) statt. Es folgt die Präsentation des Institute of Anxiety durch Edith Jeřábková (Prag). Sie spricht über Kunst und Aktivismus als Strategien gegen Klimawandel.

Nach einer kurzen Pause führt Karin Harrasser, Medien- und Kulturwissenschaftlerin sowie Professorin an der Kunstuniversität Linz, in das Werk der feministischen Theoretikerin und emeritierten Professorin der University of California Santa Cruz Donna Haraway ein. Harrasser spricht über den Prozess des Übersetzens von Unruhig bleiben. Die Verwandtschaft der Arten im Chthuluzän ins Deutsche und das Geflecht von Referenzen, das sie dabei entwirrt hat. Ein Skype- Gespräch zwischen Donna Haraway und Karin Harrasser beschließt das Programm.

 

Ticket

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

Programm

 

 

XXXX

11.00

XXXX

Vortrag

Die Koexistenz der Arten und die Relevanz des Ökofeminismus

Elisabeth von Samsonow

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

XXXX

12.00

XXXX

Präsentation

RESANITA: www.resanita.at

Anita Fuchs und Resa Pernthaller

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

XXXX

13.00

XXXX

Gemeinsame Mittagspause

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

XXXX

14.00

XXXX

Vortrag und Präsentation

Wohnprojekt Wien: www.wohnprojekt.wien

Michaela Moser 

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

XXXX

15.00

XXXX

Performativer Vortrag

Tejal Shah und Künstlerinnengespräch, geführt von Ruby Sircar

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

XXXX

16.00

XXXX

Präsentation

„Institute of Anxiety“: www.institutuzkosti.cz

Edith Jeřábková

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

XXXX

17.00

XXXX

Pause

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

XXXX

17.30

XXXX

Einführung

Karin Harrasser zur Übersetzung von Unruhig bleiben. Die Verwandtschaft der Arten im Chthuluzän

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

XXXX

18.15

XXXX

Skype-Gespräch

mit Donna Haraway, geführt von Karin Harrasser

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

XXXX

19.00

XXXX

Ausklang

und Beisammensein mit Musik, gespielt auf dem Karl-Schwanzer-Klavier

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4