-

Josef Bauer

Demonstration

With this exhibition on Josef Bauer, the Belvedere 21 is showcasing a visionary approach that has hardly been recognized in the international art world. Bauer has been one of the principal protagonists of Conceptual Art in Austria since the 1960s. In the milieu of the Wiener Gruppe (Vienna Group) with the poets Gerhard Rühm, Friedrich Achleitner, and Oswald Wiener, he develops a—in the truest sense of the word—sculptural language that makes a connection between bodies and objects.
 

The Upper Austrian Concept Artist describes his work as “tactile poetry.” His installations, paintings, objects, and performance photographs always revolve around the question of what can be articulated with art and how. Bauer is interested in combining text, image, and writing in a single language. For him, art and exhibiting constitute an entity, a “language in the space.” To this end, the artist works with suggestion and always establishes new intersections to keep the content topical. The dual meaning of the exhibition’s title, Demonstration, refers on the one hand to the gesture of presenting, on the other to the expression of political protest—two themes that play a major role in Bauer’s oeuvre.

Curated by Harald Krejci.

#JosefBauer

Belvedere 21

Opening Hours
Wednesday to Sunday
11 am - 6 pm
Late Nights: Wednesday and Friday
11 am - 9 pm
Address

Belvedere 21
Arsenalstraße 1
1030 Vienna
Austria

Tickets

In cooperation with
Impressions
The Artist
Portrait Josef Bauer
Photo: Oliver Khafagi, © Belvedere, Vienna

Josef Bauer was born on January 12, 1934, in Wels (Upper Austria) and today lives and works in Linz and Gunskirchen. As a young man he won several national pole vault championships, and he also attended business school in Wels from 1953 to 1955. In Paris – away from the museums – Bauer met artists from the American Pop Art movement. From 1956 to 1964 he studied, together with Friedrich Panzer and Hans-Peter Feldmann, at the then art school of the city of Linz. In 1968, Bauer visited the documenta in Kassel and took part in the Ergebnisse '68 exhibition at the Galerie im Griechenbeisl in Vienna. In 1970, his first solo exhibition was shown at Galerie MAERZ in Linz. In 1971, he had a solo exhibition in Vienna and took part in the neue texte exhibition at the Neue Galerie der Stadt Linz. In 1974, the artist exhibited in the Neue Galerie at the Landesmuseum Joanneum, Graz, and one year later took part in Kunst aus Sprache at the Museum of the 20th Century in Vienna. In 1978, Bauer established contact with the Bielefeld Colloquium Neue Poesie with the help of Gerhard Rühm. He exhibited at the Galerie nächst St. Stephan in Vienna and had a solo exhibition at the Stadtgalerie Bielefeld in 1985. Since 1994 his works have been featured in numerous solo exhibitions as well as group exhibitions at home and abroad. In 2013, he exhibited his works at the invitation of Krist Gruijthuijsen at the Grazer Kunstverein. In 2019 and 2020, Josef Bauer's first major retrospective will be on view at the Belvedere 21 and the LENTOS Kunstmuseum Linz.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Videos

Inhalt 4

 

Inhalt 4

 

Exhibited Artworks

 

 

Other exhibitions

-

Josef Bauer

Demonstration

Josef Bauer, "Griechenbeisl“, 1968–1971, © Belvedere, Wien, Foto: Johannes Stoll

Das Belvedere 21 zeigt mit Josef Bauer eine visionäre, im internationalen Kunstgeschehen bisher kaum wahrgenommene Position. Bauer gehört zu den wesentlichen Protagonisten der konzeptuellen Kunst in Österreich seit den 1960er-Jahren. Im Umkreis der Wiener Gruppe mit den Poeten Gerhard Rühm, Friedrich Achleitner und Oswald Wiener entwickelt er eine – im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes – skulpturale Sprache, die Körper und Objekte zueinander in Beziehung setzt.

Der oberösterreichische Konzeptkünstler bezeichnet einige Arbeiten als „taktile Poesien“. Seine Installationen, Gemälde, Objekte und Performancefotografien kreisen stets um die Frage, was mit Kunst wie artikuliert werden kann. Es geht Bauer darum, Text, Bild und Schrift zu einer gemeinsamen Sprache zusammenzufügen. Kunst und Ausstellen bilden für ihn eine Einheit, eine „Sprache im Raum“. Dafür arbeitet der Künstler mit Suggestion und stellt stets neue Querverbindungen her, um die Inhalte aktuell zu halten. Die Doppelbedeutung des Ausstellungstitels Demonstration verweist zum einen auf die Geste des Präsentierens, zum anderen auf den Ausdruck politischen Protests – zwei Themen, die in Bauers Werk wesentliche Rollen spielen.

Kuratiert von Harald Krejci.

#JosefBauer

Belvedere 21

Öffnungszeiten
Mittwoch bis Sonntag
11 bis 18 Uhr
Lange Abende: Mittwoch und Freitag
bis 21 Uhr
Adresse

Belvedere 21
Arsenalstraße 1
1030 Wien
Österreich

Tickets

In Kooperation mit
Impressionen
Zum Künstler

 

Josef Bauer, am 12. Jänner 1934 in Wels (Oberösterreich) geboren, lebt und arbeitet in Linz und Gunskirchen. 1953 bis 1955 besucht er die Handelsschule in Wels. Er wird mehrmaliger Staatsmeister im Stabhochsprung. In Paris – abseits der Museen – lernt Bauer amerikanische Pop-Art-Künstler kennen. 1956 bis 1964 studiert er gemeinsam mit Friedrich Panzer und Hans-Peter Feldmann an der ehemaligen Kunstschule der Stadt Linz. 1968 besucht Bauer die documenta in Kassel und nimmt an der Ausstellung Ergebnisse ’68 in der Galerie im Griechenbeisl in Wien teil. 1970 ist seine erste Einzelausstellung in der Galerie MAERZ in Linz zu sehen, 1971 stellt er in einer Personale in Wien aus und nimmt an der Schau neue texte in der Neuen Galerie der Stadt Linz teil. 1974 stellt der Künstler in der Neuen Galerie am Landesmuseum Joanneum, Graz, aus und nimmt ein Jahr später an Kunst aus Sprache im Wiener Museum des 20. Jahrhunderts teil. 1978 kommt Bauer über Gerhard Rühm in Kontakt mit dem Bielefelder Colloquium Neue Poesie. Er stellt in der Galerie nächst St. Stephan in Wien aus und hat 1985 eine Einzelausstellung in der Stadtgalerie Bielefeld. Ab 1994 zahlreiche Einzelausstellungen und Ausstellungsbeteiligungen im In- und Ausland. 2013 stellt er seine Werke auf Einladung von Krist Gruijthuijsen im Grazer Kunstverein aus. 2019 und 2020 ist Josef Bauers erste große Retrospektive im Belvedere 21 und im LENTOS Kunstmuseum Linz zu sehen.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4