-

Klimt. La Secessione e l’Italia

Klimt. The Secession and Italy

Summer holidays in Italy: the Attersee wasn't the only place that offered inspiration to Gustav Klimt in his time away from Vienna. In a first, the exhibition at the Museo di Roma will explore the artist's relationship with Italy, a locale he traveled to often and where he participated in important exhibitions. The show was organized by a team of three curators, including Franz Smola of the Belvedere who originated the concept. The Belvedere is contributing eleven high-caliber loans, among them the world-renowned image Judith. In addition, the not-for-profit Klimt Foundation is allowing The Bride to be presented outside Austria for the first time in over eighty years. A further sensation in the exhibition is Portrait of a Lady – stolen in Piacenza, and then rediscovered in 2019!

Museo di Roma
Located in the heart of the historical center of Rome, the museum houses numerous artifacts pertaining to the city’s history and culture from the 15th to 19th centuries, and hosts numerous exhibitions including most recently a high-profile show on Antonio Canova.


An exhibition promoted by Roma Capitale - Sovrintendenza Capitolina ai Beni Culturali, produced and organised by Arthemisia with Zètema Progetto Cultura in collaboration with the Belvedere, Vienna, and in cooperation with the Klimt Foundation.

Zur Ausstellung

Gustav Klimt, Judith, 1901
Photo: Johannes Stoll / Belvedere, Vienna

 

In 2021, Rome is celebrating its 150th anniversary of having been declared the capital of Italy's then nascent and newly united kingdom. To mark the occasion, the Museo di Roma is hosting a spectacular show dedicated to Gustav Klimt’s work, his ties to Italy, and the achievements of the Vienna Secession, focusing on the artist's connection to Italy. The Belvedere is contributing eleven of Klimt's most famous paintings, including Judith and Portrait of Amalie Zuckerkandl, along with some fifty other paintings and sculptures by artists of the Vienna Secession. In partnership with the Klimt Foundation, the important painting The Bride will be exhibited abroad for the first time since the 1930s. In addition, the non-profit private foundation is contributing further works by the painting genius – such as Friends I (The Sisters), a painting that was exhibited at the Biennale di Venezia in 1910. Around fifty additional high-caliber exhibits from the foundation's collection, including drawings by the master, posters, autographs, and photographs, are also making their way into this diverse exhibition. An absolute sensation is the presentation of Klimt's Portrait of a Lady, which mysteriously disappeared in 1997 from the Galleria Ricci Oddi in Piacenza; the painting will be on public display for the first time since its spectacular recovery in 2019.
Works from several other public and private collections will round out the show.

How did Klimt operate between the Vienna Secession and the Italian exhibition business? Klimt. The Secession and Italy traces the various stages of Gustav Klimt's creative process. In addition to his role as co-founder and first president of the Vienna Secession, the artist's participation in Italian exhibitions such as the Biennale di Venezia in 1910 and the International Art Exhibition in Rome in 1911 are highlighted as well. Klimt’s visits to Italy form an additional point of focus. These include his very early travels, such as to northern Italy in 1899 with Carl Moll and his family, as well as his two journeys to Ravenna and Venice in 1903, where Klimt took a great liking to the magnificent medieval gold mosaics that provided inspiration for his “Golden Period.” In addition to the artistic impulses Klimt drew from Italy, the exhibition will also focus on certain reciprocated influences. His paintings are juxtaposed with works by Italian artists such as the painters Felice Casorati and Galileo Chini, who were surprisingly more receptive to Klimt’s decorative style than the Viennese painters of his day.

Curatorial Team
Franz Smola, Belvedere, Vienna (exhibition concept)
Maria Vittoria Marini Clarelli, Superintendent of Cultural Affairs in Rome
Sandra Tretter, Klimt Foundation, Vienna

Organisation
Arthemisia, Milan and Rome

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

-

Klimt. La Secessione e l’Italia

Klimt. Secession und Italien

Sommerfrische in Italien: Nicht nur der Attersee bot Gustav Klimt in seiner Zeit Inspiration, wenn er sich aus Wien entfernte. Eine Ausstellung im Museo di Roma rückt erstmals die Beziehungen des Künstlers zu Italien in den Fokus, wohin ihn zahlreiche Reisen führten und wo er an wichtigen Ausstellungen teilnahm. Belvedere-Kurator Franz Smola hat die Schau konzipiert, die von einem Kurator_innentrio ausgestaltet worden ist. Das Belvedere steuert elf hochkarätige Leihgaben bei, darunter die weltbekannte Judith. Darüber hinaus ermöglicht die gemeinnützige Klimt-Foundation nach über achzig Jahren erstmals wieder die Präsentation von Die Braut außerhalb Österreichs. Eine weitere Sensation in der Ausstellung: das gestohlene, im Jahr 2019 wiedergefundene Mädchenbildnis aus Piacenza!

Museo di Roma
Das im Herzen der Altstadt gelegene Museum beherbergt zahlreiche Artefakte zu Geschichte und Kultur der Stadt Rom aus der Zeit vom 15. bis zum 19. Jahrhundert und veranstaltet zahlreiche Ausstellungen, zuletzt eine hochkarätige Schau über Antonio Canova.


Die Ausstellung wurde von Roma Capitale - Sovrintendenza Capitolina ai Beni Culturali initiiert und von Arthemisia gemeinsam mit Zètema Progetto Cultura in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Belvedere, Wien in Kooperation mit der Klimt Foundation, organisiert und umgesetzt.

Zur Ausstellung

Gustav Klimt, Judith, 1901
Gustav Klimt, Judith, 1901
Foto: Johannes Stoll / Belvedere, Wien

 

Rom feiert im Jahr 2021 den 150. Jahrestag seiner Erhebung zur Hauptstadt des geeinten und neu gegründeten Königreichs Italien. Das Museo di Roma zeigt aus diesem Anlass eine spektakuläre Schau, die sich Gustav Klimts Schaffen, seinen Verbindungen zu Italien und den Errungenschaften der Wiener Secession widmet. Das Belvedere ist mit elf seiner berühmtesten Klimt-Bilder vertreten – darunter neben der Judith etwa auch das Bildnis Amalie Zuckerkandl –, ergänzt um weitere rund fünfzig Gemälde und Skulpturen des Museums von Künstler_innen aus den Reihen der Wiener Secession. In Kooperation mit der Klimt-Foundation wird unter anderem das bedeutende Gemälde Die Braut erstmals seit den 1930er-Jahren im Ausland präsentiert. Die gemeinnützige Privatstiftung steuert zudem weitere Werke des Malergenies bei – etwa Freundinnen I (Die Schwestern), ein Gemälde, das 1910 bei der Biennale di Venezia ausgestellt worden war. Rund 50 zusätzliche hochkarätige Exponate aus der Kollektion der Stiftung, darunter Zeichnungen des Meisters, Plakate, Autografen und Fotografien, halten ebenfalls Einzug in diese vielfältige Ausstellung. Eine wahre Sensation ist die Präsentation des Mädchenbildnisses von Klimt, das 1997 aus der Galleria Ricci Oddi in Piacenza unter ungeklärten Umständen entwendet worden war: Seit der spektakulären Wiederauffindung im Jahr 2019 ist das Gemälde nun erstmals zu sehen. Werke aus weiteren öffentlichen und privaten Sammlungen komplettieren die Schau.

Wie bewegte sich Klimt zwischen Wiener Secession und italienischem Ausstellungsbetrieb? Die Schau Klimt: la Secessione e l’Italia geht den Stationen der Schaffensprozesse Gustav Klimts nach. Sie beleuchtet neben seiner Rolle als Mitbegründer und erster Präsident der Wiener Secession seine Ausstellungsbeteiligungen in Italien, unter anderem an der Biennale di Venezia 1910 und an der Internationalen Kunstausstellung Rom 1911. Einen weiteren Schwerpunkt bilden Klimts Italienaufenthalte. Dazu zählen seine frühen Reisen, etwa jene 1899 mit Carl Moll und dessen Familie nach Oberitalien; oder die beiden Reisen nach Ravenna und Venedig im Jahr 1903, wo Klimt von den prächtigen mittelalterlichen Goldmosaiken fasziniert war und Inspiration für seine Goldene Periode fand. Neben den künstlerischen Impulsen, die Klimt aus Italien schöpfte, wird auch die wechselseitige Wirkung fokussiert. Seine Bilder werden Werken italienischer Künstler_innen gegenübergestellt – so reagierten die Maler Felice Casorati und Galileo Chini erstaunlich auf Klimts dekorativen Stil, viel mehr als die Wiener Maler_innen jener Zeit.

Kuratorisches Team
Franz Smola, Belvedere, Wien (Konzept)
Maria Vittoria Marini Clarelli, Sovrintendente ai Beni Culturali di Roma
Sandra Tretter, Klimt-Foundation, Wien

Organisation
Arthemisia, Mailand und Rom

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4