-

Into The Night

Cabarets and Clubs in Modern Art

Willkommen, Bienvenue, Welcome! Step into the pulsating world of cabarets, clubs, and cafés. Opening in February 2020 at the Lower Belvedere and Orangery, the exhibition Into the Night explores art and culture from the 1880s to the 1960s through the lens of these alternative scenes. 

 

Curated by Florence Ostende (Barbican, London).

Lower Belvedere

Opening Hours
Daily
10 am - 6 pm
Friday
10 am - 9 pm
Address

Lower Belvedere
Rennweg 6
1030 Vienna
Austria

Tickets

The Exhibition
Erna Schmidt-Caroll, Chansonette, c. 1928,Private collection, © Estate Erna Schmidt-Caroll

In Vienna, the Cabaret Fledermaus, founded and designed in 1907 by key members of the Wiener Werkstätte, marked the transition from Secessionism to Expressionism. In Paris in the 1880s, the Chat Noir and its shadow theater anticipated cinema. In Zurich, Dada was founded at the Cabaret Voltaire while in Rome, the nightclub Bal Tic Tac designed by Giacomo Balla and Fortunato Depero’s Cabaret del Diavolo were incubators of Futurism. Meanwhile, Theo van Doesburg, co-founder of De Stijl, partly shaped the Minimalist design of the Café L’Aubette in Strasbourg. In Berlin between the wars, the electrifying energy of the nightclubs fired the imaginations of artists working in the styles of Expressionism and Neue Sachlichkeit, such as Otto Dix, Jeanne Mammen, and Elfriede Lohse-Wächtler.

Nightclubs, cafés, bars, and cabarets were vibrant hubs of modernism in the twentieth century, providing artists with a platform for a creative exchange of ideas between painting and graphic art, architecture, design, literature, dance and music. The exhibition looks at many of these locations around the world and explores these fertile artistic environments and their lasting influence on the history of art. It deliberately goes beyond the boundaries of a Eurocentric perspective. Not only does it examine the iconic venues of the avant-garde but it also transports the viewer to the Café de Nadie in Mexico City and the Harlem Renaissance at the New York jazz clubs of the 1920s and 1930s, whose protagonists took up the fight against racism. It concludes with the Mbari Clubs, founded in the early 1960s in Ibadan and Osogbo, Nigeria, and the Rasht 29 Art Club, which was opened in Tehran in 1966.

The exhibition has been organized in collaboration with the Barbican, London, where it is on show from October 4, 2019 to January 19, 2020.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Welcome to the Club

 

Visitors to the Lower Belvedere can look forward to experiencing art in all its variety. Recreations of spaces from the Cabaret Fledermaus or the Chat Noir recapture their vibrant atmospheres. The exhibition is accompanied by a rich public program featuring theater, concerts, readings, and dance performances.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Clubs, Cafés, Cabarets

 

Chat Noir, Paris, 1880s
Loïe Fuller at the Folies Bergère, 1890s 
Cabaret Fledermaus, Vienna, founded 1907
Cave of the Golden Calf, London, 1912–14
Cabaret Voltaire, Zurich, 1916
Bal Tic Tac, Rome, 1921
Fortunato Depero’s Cabaret del Diavolo, Rome, 1922
Café de Nadie, Mexico City, 1920s
Café L’Aubette, Strasbourg, 1926–28
The Mbari Artists and Writers Club, Ibadan, Nigeria, 1960s
Mbari Mbayo, Osogbo, Nigeria, 1960s
Rasht 29, Tehran, 1966–69

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Artists (Selection)

 

Featuring works by Hans Arp, Hugo Ball, Giacomo Balla, Max Beckmann, Georgina Beier, E. Simms Campbell, Carl Otto Czeschka, Fortunato Depero, Otto Dix, Theo van Doesburg, Aaron Douglas, Hannah Höch, Josef Hoffmann, Jacob Lawrence, Bertold Löffler, Elfriede Lohse-Wächtler, Oskar Kokoschka, Jeanne Mammen, Koloman Moser, Henri Rivière, Sophie Taeuber-Arp, Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec, Prince Twins Seven Seven, Susanne Wenger, and others.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Other exhibitions

-

Into The Night

Die Avantgarde im Nachtcafé

Rudolf Schlichter, Damenkneipe (Women's Club), c. 1925, Private collection © Viola Roehr v. Alvensleben, Munich. Photo: akg-images

Willkommen, Bienvenue, Welcome! Treten Sie ein in die pulsierende Welt der Kabaretts, Clubs und Cafés. Aus Perspektive dieser alternativen Szenen erzählt die Ausstellung Into the Night ab Februar 2020 im Unteren Belvedere und in der Orangerie vom kulturellen Geschehen von den 1880er- bis zu den 1960er-Jahren.

 

Kuratiert von Florence Ostende (Barbican, London), Harald Krejci (Belvedere, Wien).

Unteres Belvedere

Öffnungszeiten
Täglich
10 bis 18 Uhr
Freitag
bis 21 Uhr
Adresse

Unteres Belvedere
Rennweg 6
1030 Wien
Österreich

Tickets

Zur Ausstellung
Erna Schmidt-Caroll, Chansonette, c. 1928,Private collection, © Estate Erna Schmidt-Caroll

In Wien war es das 1907 von Protagonist_innen der Wiener Werkstätte gegründete und ausgestattete Kabarett Fledermaus, das den Übergang vom Secessionismus zum Expressionismus markierte. In Paris nahm das Chat Noir mit seinem Schattentheater in den 1880ern die Kinokultur vorweg. Im Zürcher Cabaret Voltaire wurde Dada gegründet. Der von Giacomo Balla designte Nachtclub Bal Tic Tac und das von Fortunato Depero entworfene Cabaret del Diavolo in Rom waren Brutstätten des Futurismus. Das minimalistische Design des Café L’Aubette in Straßburg stammte zum Teil von Theo van Doesburg, dem Mitbegründer von De Stijl. Im Berlin der Zwischenkriegszeit befeuerte die vibrierende Energie der Nachtclubs die Künstlerinnen und Künstler des Expressionismus und der Neuen Sachlichkeit wie Otto Dix, Jeanne Mammen oder Elfriede Lohse-Wächtler.

Nachtclubs, Cafés, Bars oder Kabaretts waren im 20. Jahrhundert wichtige Dreh- und Angelpunkte der Moderne und boten Künstlerinnen und Künstlern eine Plattform des kreativen Ideenaustauschs zwischen Malerei und Grafik, Architektur, Design, Literatur, Tanz und Musik. Die Ausstellung betrachtet zahlreiche dieser Schauplätze weltweit und spürt der vibrierenden künstlerischen Befruchtung nach, die von dort aus die Kunstgeschichte nachhaltig prägte. Sie durchbricht dabei bewusst die Grenzen eines eurozentristischen Blickwinkels. Thematisiert werden nicht nur die bekannten Schauplätze der Avantgarde, sondern auch das Café de Nadie in Mexiko-Stadt oder die Harlem-Renaissance in New Yorker Jazzclubs der 1920er- und 1930er-Jahre, deren Protagonistinnen und Protagonisten sich im Kampf gegen Rassismus engagierten. Den Schlusspunkt der Ausstellung bilden die Mbari Clubs, die Anfang der 1960er in Ibadan und Oshogbo, Nigeria, gegründet wurden, sowie der 1966 in Teheran eröffnete Künstlerclub Rasht 29.

Die Ausstellung wurde in Kooperation mit dem Barbican, London, realisiert und ist dort vom 4. Oktober 2019 bis zum 19. Jänner 2020 zu sehen.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Willkommen im Club

 

Besucherinnen und Besucher erwartet im Unteren Belvedere Kunstschaffen in all seiner Vielfalt. Architektonische Rekonstruktionen machen die kreative Atmosphäre des Kabarett Fledermaus oder des Chat Noir erlebbar. Ein umfassendes Begleitprogramm mit Theater, Konzerten, Lesungen und Tanzperformances bildet den Rahmen der Schau.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Clubs, Cafés, Kabaretts

 

Chat Noir, Paris, 1880s
Loie Fuller im Folies Bergère, 1890er Jahre
Kabarett Fledermaus, gegr. 1907
Cave of the Golden Calf, London, 1912-1914
Cabaret Voltaire, Zürich, 1916
Bal Tik Tak, Rom, 1921
Fortunato Depero’s Cabaret del Diavolo, Rom, 1922
Café de Nadie, Mexico City, 1920er
Café L’Aubette, Strasburg, 1926-28
The Mbari Artists and Writers Club, Ibadan, Nigeria, 1960er
Mbari Mbayo, Oshogbo, Nigeria, 1960er
Rasht 29, Teheran, 1966-69
 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Künstlerinnen und Künstler (Auswahl)

 

Mit Werken von Hans Arp, Hugo Ball, Giacomo Balla, Max Beckmann, Georgina Beier, E. Simms Campbell, Carl Otto Czeschka, Fortunato Depero, Otto Dix, Theo van Doesburg, Aaron Douglas, Hannah Höch, Josef Hoffmann, Jacob Lawrence, Bertold Löffler, Elfriede Lohse-Wächtler, Oskar Kokoschka, Jeanne Mammen, Koloman Moser, Henri Rivière, Sophie Taeuber-Arp, Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec, Prince Twins Seven Seven, Susanne Wenger und anderen.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Weitere Ausstellungen