-

Walter Pichler. Alte Figur

CARLONE CONTEMPORARY

Walter Pichler’s Alte Figur (Old Figure), created between 1960 and 1963, was acquired in 2018 by the Belvedere with the support of the Friends of the Belvedere, and is now part of the permanent collection. It is to be presented from November 2019 at the Upper Belvedere in the series CARLONE CONTEMPORARY. This sculpture manifests Pichler’s fundamental concept of art and the parameters of his work he consistently pursued. 

Alte Figur’s stoicism, technical precision, and presentation call to mind archaic artefacts. Its lucid geometry and axial orientation will be placed in juxtaposition with the Baroque frescoes by Carlo Innocenzo Carlone. Standing, seated or lying, Pichler has provided a bed for his figure in the form of a mattress that is a base, dwelling, and throne rolled into one. The immediate connection between life and work is central to the artist’s oeuvre – he originally positioned the installation beside his own bed in his studio. Alte Figur anticipates the main theme of Pichler’s later work: a harmony between space, sculpture, material, and time. 

 

Curated by Stella Rollig.

 

#WalterPichler

Upper Belvedere

Opening Hours
Daily
9 am - 6 pm
Friday
9 am - 9 pm
Address

Upper Belvedere
Prinz Eugen-Straße 27
1030 Vienna
Austria

Tickets

Impressions
The Artist

 

Walter Pichler, born in 1936 in the South Tyrol, is considered one of the most important artists of the postwar avant-garde in Austria. From 1955 to 1959 he studied at the Academy of Applied Arts in Vienna, followed by stays in Paris, New York, and Mexico. Walter Pichler was a member of the group “Englische Flotte” (English Fleet) together with Hans Hollein, Raimund Abraham, Heinz Geretsegger, and Oswald and Ingrid Wiener. They championed a visionary concept of architecture and were interested in sculptural architecture and urban utopias. In 1967 MoMA in New York featured Pichler, Hollein, and Abraham in the exhibition Visionary Architecture. At the fourth documenta in 1968, Pichler presented his Prototypes; in 1977 he exhibited at the documenta 7. At the invitation of Commissioner Hans Hollein, he designed Austria’s contribution to the Venice Biennale in 1982. A turning-point in Pichler’s oeuvre came about after he bought an old farm in Sankt Martin in Burgenland in the 1970s. Gradually, he started withdrawing from the public eye and the art world and channeling all his energies into his sculptural work. He connected his objects with the farm estate at Sankt Martin both conceptually and physically by designing buildings or spaces specifically for his sculptures. Walter Pichler died in 2012 in Vienna. 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

The Artwork

 

 

CARLONE CONTEMPORARY

 

Die Reihe CARLONE CONTEMPORARY präsentiert halbjährlich im Carlone-Saal des Oberen Belvedere zeitgenössische Werke. Künstlerinnen und Künstler schlagen mit ihren Positionen zum barocken Bildprogramm der Fresken im Saal eine Brücke von der antiken Götterwelt Apolls und Dianas in die Gegenwart.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Other exhibitions

-

Walter Pichler. Alte Figur

CARLONE CONTEMPORARY

Walter Pichlers in den Jahren von 1960 bis 1963 entstandene Alte Figur wurde 2018 vom Belvedere gemeinsam mit dem Verein Freunde des Belvedere erworben und ist nun Teil der Sammlung des Museums. In der Reihe CARLONE CONTEMPORARY wird sie ab November 2019 im Oberen Belvedere präsentiert. In der Skulptur manifestieren sich Pichlers elementares Kunstverständnis und die konsequent verfolgten Parameter seines Schaffens. 

Stoizismus, technische Präzision und Präsentation von Alte Figur lassen an archaische Artefakte denken. Mit klarer Geometrie und axialer Ausrichtung tritt die Skulptur den barocken Fresken von Carlo Incenzo Carlone entgegen. Stehend, sitzend oder liegend bettet Pichler sie auf ein Matratzenlager, das zugleich Sockel, Wohnstatt und Thron ist. Die unmittelbare Verbindung von Leben und Werk ist im Schaffen des Künstlers zentral: So positionierte er die Installation ursprünglich neben seinem Bett im eigenen Atelier. Mit Alte Figur nimmt Pichler das Hauptthema seiner späteren Arbeit vorweg, Raum, Skulptur, Material und Zeit als Einklang zu konzipieren. 

 

Kuratiert von Stella Rollig.

 

#WalterPichler #CarloneContemporary

Oberes Belvedere

Öffnungszeiten
Täglich
9 bis 18 Uhr
Freitag
bis 21 Uhr
Adresse

Oberes Belvedere
Prinz Eugen-Straße 27
1030 Wien
Österreich

Tickets

Impressionen
Zum Künstler

 

Walter Pichler, 1936 in Südtirol geboren, schloss 1955 sein Studium an der Akademie für angewandte Kunst in Wien ab. Es folgten Aufenthalte in Paris, New York und Mexiko. Neben Hans Hollein, Raimund Abraham, Heinz Geretsegger, Oswald und Ingrid Wiener war Walter Pichler Teil der Gruppierung „Englische Flotte“, die für einen visionären Architekturbegriff stand und sich für skulpturale Architektur und städtebauliche Utopien interessierte. 1967 zeigte das MoMA in New York Pichler, Hollein und Abraham in der Schau Visionary Architecture. Auf der 4. documenta im Jahr 1968 präsentierte Pichler seine Prototypen, 1977 stellte er auf der documenta 7 aus. 1982 gestaltete er auf Einladung von Kommissär Hans Hollein den österreichischen Beitrag zur Biennale von Venedig. Der Erwerb eines Anwesens in Sankt Martin im Burgenland in den 1970er-Jahren markiert einen Wendepunkt in Pichlers Œuvre: Sukzessiv zog sich der Künstler aus der Öffentlichkeit und dem Kunstbetrieb zurück und fokussierte ganz auf seine bildhauerische Arbeit. Hier verknüpfte er seine Objekte sowohl physisch – mit eigens für sie gefertigten Häusern oder gestalteten Umgebungen – als auch konzeptuell mit der Hofanlage in Sankt Martin. Walter Pichler starb 2012 in Wien. 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Zum Objekt

 

 

CARLONE CONTEMPORARY

 

Die Reihe CARLONE CONTEMPORARY präsentiert halbjährlich im Carlone-Saal des Oberen Belvedere zeitgenössische Werke. Künstlerinnen und Künstler schlagen mit ihren Positionen zum barocken Bildprogramm der Fresken im Saal eine Brücke von der antiken Götterwelt Apolls und Dianas in die Gegenwart.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Weitere Ausstellungen