-

Zbyněk Sekal

Critical thinker, analytical observer, poet of the material:  the multifaceted work of sculptor and painter Zbyněk Sekal (Prague 1923 – Vienna 1998) can be read from many perspectives. An exhibition project at the Belvedere 21 will stage and closely examine some seventy of his objects.

Curated by Harald Krejci.

 

#ZbynekSekal

Tickets

Belvedere 21

Opening Hours
Tuesday to Sunday
11 am - 6 pm
Long evenings: Thursday and Friday
until 9 pm
Address

Belvedere 21
Arsenalstraße 1
1030 Vienna
Austria

Impressions

Exhibition

 

The individual in a labyrinthine world, in danger of alienation – Zbyněk Sekal shows mankind’s fragility. His anthropomorphic creations are emblematic of human identity and stand for a sense of freedom during the Cold War. They reflect not only personal experiences but also Sekal's engagement with phenomenology and existentialism. The exhibition at the Belvedere 21 shows the triumph of human creativity over the malevolence of the times. The preoccupation of Zbyněk Sekal with captivity and exile seems more topical than ever, especially in today's atmosphere of crisis-related upheaval. The museum will showcase some seventy of his objects. The exhibition is part of a Belvedere research project on the cultural landscape of Central Europe in the 1960s and 1970s.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

The Artist

Zbyněk Sekal attained high esteem in the avant-garde artist circles of Prague and Vienna as early as the 1960s. His work bears the hallmarks of his roots in Prague's Surrealist tradition. Such work includes early paintings, “material” paintings, as well as bronze and stone sculptures. In the wake of the crushed Prague Spring of 1968, Sekal immigrated via Germany to Vienna. Here he developed his "shrines," called schránky, in addition to combine paintings and anthropomorphous sculptures. These manifest Sekal's poetic examination of solitude and isolation, of disappearance and imprisonment.

Zbyněk Sekal, Cross, after 1975, Private collection
Photo: Johannes Stoll / Belvedere, Vienna © Bildrecht Vienna 2020

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Künstlerbiographie

 

1923

 

Zbyněk Sekal is born 12 July in Prague.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1934 bis 1945

 

Arrested for distributing anti-Nazi leaflets and detained in the Prague-Pankrác prison and the concentration camps of Theresienstadt and Mauthausen until the end of the war. Prior to arrest, he maintains contacts with young writers who, in 1943, found the Surrealist group “Spořilovští surrealisté.”

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1945 bis 1950

 

Studies painting at the Academy of Applied Arts Design (Vysoká škola uměleckoprůmyslová, a.k.a. UMPRUM) in Prague. First trip to Paris 1947, where he attends the International Surrealism exhibition. He is fascinated by Jean Dubuffet’s work. Discontinues his studies following events         of 1948 in Czechoslovakia.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1951 bis 1953

 

Works as a commercial artist and editor in a publishing house for political literature. Friendship with the philosopher Ivan Dubský; keeps a personal diary of his own philosophical contemplations.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1953 bis 1958

 

Moves to Bratislava. Translates from German texts by Franz Kafka, Georg Büchner, Günter Grass, Ludwig Feuerbach, and Karl Marx. In 1957 co-founds the artists' association Skupina Máj 57. The first exhibition is held in the Prague Municipal House on 31 May 1957.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1958 bis 1961

 

Returns to Prague. Travels to Moscow, St. Petersburg (1959), Warsaw, and Gdansk (1961).

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1961 bis 1968

 

Participates in international symposia: ceramics symposium in Gmunden (1964, 1965), sculpture symposium St. Margarethen (1966), sculpture symposium Vyšné Ružbachy (1967). In 1968 the Soviet occupation finally forces him to emigrate.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1969 bis 1970

 

DAAD scholarship in Berlin. Designs a wall in the David Hansemann House in Düsseldorf.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1970

 

In September, relocates to Vienna, where he will remain until his death.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1971

 

Solo exhibitions at the Galerie im Griechenbeisl in Vienna and the Galerie Maerz in Linz, participation in the group exhibition Imago at Schloss Lengenfeld near Krems.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1972 bis 1974

 

Assistant lecturer at the Academy in Stuttgart.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1974

 

Joins the Vienna Secession.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1977 bis 1979

 

Interior decoration of the Guthirtenkirche in Lustenau. Solo exhibitions in the Neue Galerie Graz, the Museum Bochum, and the Museum of the 20th Century in Vienna.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1980 bis 1981

 

Scholarship, Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1984

 

Prize of the City of Vienna for sculpture.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1989

 

One-month journey through Japan.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1997

 

Retrospective exhibition in the Gallery of the Capital Prague.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1998

 

24 February Zbyněk Sekal dies in Vienna.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Other exhibitions

-

Zbyněk Sekal

Kritischer Denker, analytischer Beobachter, Poet im Umgang mit Material: Das facettenreiche Werk des Malers und Bildhauers Zbyněk Sekal (Prag 1923 – Wien 1998) lässt sich aus vielen Perspektiven lesen. In einem Ausstellungsprojekt im Belvedere 21 werden nun über siebzig seiner Objekte inszeniert und einer Betrachtung unterzogen.

Kuratiert von Harald Krejci.

 

#ZbynekSekal

Tickets

Belvedere 21

Öffnungszeiten
Dienstag bis Sonntag
11 bis 18 Uhr
Adresse

Belvedere 21
Arsenalstraße 1
1030 Wien
Österreich

In Kooperation mit
Impressionen

Zur Ausstellung

 

Der Mensch in einer labyrinthisch scheinenden Welt, von der er sich zu entfremden droht – Zbyněk Sekal zeigt in seinem Werk die Fragilität des Individuums auf. Seine anthropomorphen Gebilde stehen sinnbildlich für die menschliche Identität und für das Freiheitsbewusstsein in der Zeit des Kalten Krieges. Darin verarbeitet finden sich nicht nur persönliche Erlebnisse wieder, sondern auch Sekals Auseinandersetzung mit der Philosophie der Phänomenologie und des Existenzialismus. Die Ausstellung im Belvedere 21 zeigt den Triumph der menschlichen Kreativität über die Missgunst der Zeit. Die Beschäftigung von Zbyněk Sekal mit Gefangenschaft und Exil wirkt gerade in der heutigen krisenbedingten Umbruchstimmung aktueller denn je. Rund siebzig seiner Objekte werden in einer Inszenierung im Museum präsentiert. Die Ausstellung ist Teil eines Belvedere-Forschungsprojekts zur Kulturlandschaft Mitteleuropas in den 1960er- und 1970er-Jahren.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

Zum Künstler

Zbyněk Sekal wurde bereits in den 1960er-Jahren in den avantgardistischen Künstler_innenkreisen Prags und Wiens sehr geschätzt. Sein Werk trägt die Spuren seiner Herkunft aus der Prager surrealistischen Tradition. Es umfasst frühe Malereien, Materialbilder sowie Skulpturen aus Bronze und Stein. Nach der Niederschlagung des Prager Frühlings 1968 emigrierte Sekal über Deutschland nach Wien. Hier entstanden neben Materialbildern und anthropomorphen Skulpturen seine „Schreine“, genannt Schránky. In ihnen manifestiert sich Zbyněk Sekals poetische Auseinandersetzung mit Einsamkeit und Isolation, mit dem Verschwinden sowie mit dem Gefangensein.

Zbyněk Sekal, Kreuz, nach 1975, Privatsammlung
Foto: Johannes Stoll / Belvedere, Wien © Bildrecht Wien, 2020

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Künstlerbiographie

 

1923

 

Zbyněk Sekal wird am 12. Juli in Prag geboren.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1934 bis 1945

 

Während seiner Studienzeit engagiert er sich in linksorientierten Organisationen wie der Nationalen Bewegung der arbeitenden Jugend (Národní hnutí pracující mládeže). Wegen der Verbreitung antinazistischer Flugblätter wird er verhaftet und bis zum Kriegsschluss in KZs interniert (Prag-Pankrác, Theresienstadt, Mauthausen). Bis zu seiner Festnahme pflegt er Kontakte zu jungen Schriftstellern, die 1943 die Surrealistengruppe Spořilovští surrealisté gründen.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1945 bis 1950

 

Studium der Malerei an der Hochschule für angewandte Kunst (Vysoká škola uměleckoprůmyslová – „Umprum“) in Prag. 1947 erste Reise nach Paris, wo er die Internationale Surrealismusausstellung besucht. Begeisterung für das Werk Jean Dubuffets. Nach den Ereignissen 1948 in der Tschechoslowakei bricht er das Studium ab.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1951 bis 1953

 

Arbeitet als Werbegrafiker und Redakteur im Verlag für politische Literatur. Freundschaft mit dem Philosophen Ivan Dubský, er selbst führt Tagebücher mit philosophischen Überlegungen.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1953 bis 1958

 

Umzug nach Bratislava. Übersetzt aus dem Deutschen Werke von Franz Kafka, Georg Büchner, Günter Grass, Ludwig Feuerbach und Karl Marx. 1957 Mitbegründer der Künstler_innenvereinigung Skupina Máj 57, die erste Ausstellung wird am 31. Mai 1957 im Prager Gemeindehaus eröffnet.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1958 bis 1961

 

Rückkehr nach Prag. Reisen nach Moskau, Sankt Petersburg (1959), Warschau und Danzig (1961).

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1961 bis 1968

 

Nimmt an internationalen Symposien teil: Keramiksymposium in Gmunden (1964, 1965), Bildhauereisymposium Sankt Margarethen (1966), Bildhauereisymposium Vyšné Ružbachy (1967). Die sowjetische Okkupation 1968 zwingt ihn letztendlich zur Emigration.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1969 bis 1970

 

DAAD-Stipendium in Berlin. Gestaltung einer Wand im David-Hansemann-Haus in Düsseldorf.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1970

 

Im September übersiedelt er nach Wien, wo er bis zu seinem Tod wohnhaft bleibt.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1971

 

Einzelausstellung in der Galerie im Griechenbeisl in Wien, in der Galerie Maerz in Linz, Teilnahme an der Gruppenausstellung Imago im Schloss Lengenfeld bei Krems. 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1972 bis 1974

 

Lehrbeauftragter an der Akademie in Stuttgart.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1974

 

Beitritt zur Wiener Secession.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1977 bis 1979

 

Innenausstattung der Guthirtenkirche in Lustenau. Einzelausstellungen in der Neuen Galerie Graz, im Museum Bochum und im Museum des 20. Jahrhunderts in Wien.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1980 bis 1981

 

Stipendium des Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1984

 

Preis der Stadt Wien für Bildhauerei.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1989

 

Einmonatige Reise durch Japan.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1997

 

Retrospektive in der Galerie der Hauptstadt Prag.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

1998

 

Am 24. Februar stirbt Zbyněk Sekal in Wien.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Weitere Ausstellungen