-  postponed

Dalí - Freud

London, autumn 1938 – Salvador Dalí meets Sigmund Freud, who had escaped from Vienna. The first and only meeting between the artist and his idol was arranged by Stefan Zweig and Edward James. The Belvedere dedicates a comprehensive exhibition to this momentous association and shows the influence of the psychoanalyst on Dalí's work. 

 

Curated by Jaime Brihuega.

Lower Belvedere

Opening Hours
Currently
closed
Address

Lower Belvedere
Rennweg 6
1030 Vienna
Austria

Tickets

Regular
€ 4,00 Online price in July instead of € 16,00
Seniors over 65
€ 4,00 Online price in July instead of € 13,50
Students under 26
€ 4,00 Online price in July instead of € 13,50
Impressions

The Exhibition

 

That motifs central to Surrealism are the subconscious and the realm of dreams already demonstrates that artists of this stylistic inclination have a fascination with psychoanalysis. The depth to which the greatest representative of this movement, Salvador Dalí, specifically dealt with the theories of Sigmund Freud – and how suddenly many of those theories appeared in his work – will be shown beginning in October 2020 in a comprehensive exhibition at the Orangery of the Lower Belvedere. This show is comprised of 150 paintings, sculptures, photographs, films, books, magazines, letters, and other documents, many of which will be on loan from notable cultural institutions. The exhibition documents the powerful attraction that Freud held for the Surrealists – thereby illuminating two of the most significant movements of the twentieth century. 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Encounters

 

Salvador Dalí had access to translations of Sigmund Freud’s writings starting in the early 1920s and studied them extensively. Influenced by this literature, he began to explore the poetics of Surrealism in 1926 and developed the pictorial language that gave his work the unique status it maintains to this day. He was only able to meet the Viennese psychoanalyst on a single occasion in London. The exhibition describes this and other seminal encounters the artist had, such as at the Residencia de Estudiantes in Barcelona where he met the poet Federico García Lorca, or yet another meeting he had with the filmmaker Luis Buñuel. These, as well as other encounters such as with histologist and Nobel laureate Santiago Ramón y Cajal and his drawings of nerve issue, were largely responsible for shaping Salvador Dalí’s surrealistic work. His family background also had a great influence on his oeuvre, which forms yet another focus of the show – via psychoanalysis the artist intensively dealt with his complex youth, processing it time and again in his paintings.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Other exhibitions

-

Dalí - Freud

London, Herbst 1938 – Salvador Dalí trifft den aus Wien geflohenen Sigmund Freud. Das erste und einzige Treffen des Künstlers mit seinem Idol kam auf Vermittlung von Stefan Zweig und Edward James zustande. In einer profunden Schau widmet sich das Belvedere dieser folgenreichen Verbindung und zeigt den Einfluss des Psychoanalytikers auf das Werk Dalís. 


Kuratiert von Jaime Brihuega.

Unteres Belvedere

Öffnungszeiten
Derzeit
geschlossen
Adresse

Unteres Belvedere
Rennweg 6
1030 Wien
Österreich

Impressionen

Zur Ausstellung

 

Zentrale Motive des Surrealismus sind Unbewusstes und Traum. Hier wird bereits die Faszination deutlich, mit der Künstler_innen dieser Stilrichtung der Psychoanalyse begegneten. Wie sehr sich dessen größter Vertreter Salvador Dalí konkret mit den Theorien Sigmund Freuds auseinandersetzte und wie unvermittelt vieles davon in seinem Werk auftaucht, zeigt ab Oktober 2020 eine umfassende Ausstellung in der Orangerie des Unteren Belvedere. Sie umfasst 150 Gemälde, darunter Skulpturen, Fotografien, Filme, Bücher, Zeitschriften, Briefe und andere Dokumente – vieles davon Leihgaben aus wichtigen Kulturinstitutionen. Die Ausstellung dokumentiert die große Anziehungskraft, die Freud auf den Surrealisten ausübte – und beleuchtet damit zwei der bedeutendsten Strömungen des 20. Jahrhunderts. 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Begegnungen

 

Salvador Dalí hatte ab den frühen 1920er-Jahren Zugang zu Übersetzungen der Schriften Sigmunds Freuds und studierte sie ausführlich. Beeinflusst von dieser Literatur setzte er sich ab 1926 mit der Poetik des Surrealismus auseinander und entwickelte eine neue Bildsprache, die sein Werk bis heute einzigartig macht. Persönlich traf er den Wiener Psychoanalytiker allerdings nur ein einziges Mal, in London. Die Ausstellung schildert diese und weitere wegweisende Begegnungen des Künstlers wie jene in der Residencia de Estudiantes in Barcelona mit dem Dichter Federico García Lorca oder dem Filmemacher Luis Buñuel. Sie, wie auch der Histologe und Nobelpreisträger Santiago Ramón y Cajal und dessen Zeichnungen vom Nervengewebe wurden letztlich bestimmend für Salvador Dalís surrealistisches Schaffen. Auch sein familiärer Hintergrund hatte großen Einfluss auf sein Werk, weshalb diesem ein weiterer Augenmerk der Schau gewidmet ist – der Künstler setzte sich mit seiner komplexen Jugend intensiv psychoanalytisch auseinander und verarbeitete diese wiederholt in seinen Gemälden.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4