-

CARLONE CONTEMPORARY: Volkmar Klien

Anschwellen – Abschwellen

Slowly and insistently the ticking of the pendulum clock grows louder until the sound fills the space, accompanied by the steady unfurling of a peacock fan. Volkmar Klien’s performance apparatus strives for beauty, for magnitude, for volume, and for dominance. It is to be presented in the Carlone Contemporary exhibition series at the Upper Belvedere. 


Anschwellen – Abschwellen
In Volkmar Klien’s performance apparatus Anschwellen – Abschwellen, the ticking of a pendulum clock slowly but surely swells to produce an all-pervading sound that, at its height, fills the Baroque Carlone Hall, all the while accompanied by the gradual unfurling of a peacock fan. It represents a striving for beauty, a crescendo to unimaginable magnitude, volume, and dominance. Then the peacock feathers subside and the sound ebbs away, back to the beginning and the constant ticking, an order imposed by humanity on the unfathomable flow of time.


Curated by Stella Rollig.

#VolkmarKlien

 

The work Anschwellen-Abschwellen was supported by the following institutions:

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

 

 

Tickets

Regular
Regular
€ 15,90 instead of € 18,00 on site
Seniors over 65
Seniors over 65
€ 13,40 instead of € 15,50 on site
Students under 26
Students under 26
€ 13,40 instead of € 15,50 on site
Children and youth under 19
Children and youth under 19
€ 0,00
Visitors with a valid Vienna City Card
Visitors with a valid Vienna City Card
€ 14,50
Visitors with a Disability Card / Assistance
Visitors with a Disability Card / Assistance
€ 3,00
Groups of 10 or more visitors
Groups of 10 or more visitors
€ 15,90

Upper Belvedere

Opening Hours
Monday to Sunday
10 am - 6 pm
Address

Upper Belvedere
Prinz Eugen-Straße 27
1030 Vienna
Austria

In cooperation with
Impressions

The Artist

Portrait of Volkmar Klien
© Johannes Novohradsky

Born in 1971 in Hollabrunn and raised in Vienna, since childhood Volkmar Klien has been fascinated by his native city’s world of music and its rituals. With this as his starting point, he has expanded the experiences of composing, making music, and listening beyond the context of the classical concert.

Klien is professor of composition and director of the Institute for Composition, Conducting and Computer Music at the Anton Bruckner Private University in Linz. His works are performed and presented throughout the world.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Video

 

Other exhibitions

-

CARLONE CONTEMPORARY: Volkmar Klien

Anschwellen – Abschwellen

Langsam und nachdrücklich entwickelt sich das Ticken einer Pendeluhr zu einem raumgreifenden Klang, begleitet vom bedächtigen Entfalten eines Pfauenrades. Volkmar Kliens Performance-Apparatur strebt nach Schönheit, nach Größe, nach Laut-Stärke und nach Dominanz. Sie wird im Oberen Belvedere in der Reihe Carlone Contemporary präsentiert.


Anschwellen – Abschwellen
In Volkmar Kliens Performance-Apparatur Anschwellen – Abschwellen entwickelt sich langsam, aber bestimmt aus dem Ticken einer Pendeluhr ein imposanter Klang, der an seinem Höhepunkt, begleitet vom stetigen Entfalten eines Pfauenrades, den barocken Carlone-Saal erfüllt. Das Streben nach Schönheit, ein Anschwellen zu ungeahnter Größe, Laut-Stärke und Dominanz. Dann sinken die Pfauenfedern nieder, und der Klang schwillt ab, kehrt zurück zu seinem Anfang, das stete Ticken, jene menschengemachte Ordnung im unüberblickbaren Strom der Zeit.

Kuratiert von Stella Rollig.

#VolkmarKlien

 

Die Arbeit Anschwellen-Abschwellen wurde durch folgende Institutionen unterstützt:

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

 

 

 

Tickets

Regulär
Regulär
€ 15,90 statt € 18,00 vor Ort
Senior_innen ab 65
Senior_innen ab 65
€ 13,40 statt € 15,50 vor Ort
Studierende unter 26
Studierende unter 26
€ 13,40 statt € 15,50 vor Ort
Kinder und Jugendliche unter 19
Kinder und Jugendliche unter 19
€ 0,00
Besucher_innen mit gültiger Vienna City Card
Besucher_innen mit gültiger Vienna City Card
€ 14,50
Menschen mit Behindertenausweis/ Assistenzpersonen
Menschen mit Behindertenausweis/ Assistenzpersonen
€ 3,00
Gruppe ab 10 Personen
Gruppe ab 10 Personen
€ 15,90

Oberes Belvedere

Öffnungszeiten
Dienstag bis Sonntag
10 bis 18 Uhr
Adresse

Oberes Belvedere
Prinz Eugen-Straße 27
1030 Wien
Österreich

In Kooperation mit
Impressionen

Zum Künstler

Porträt von Volkmar Klien
© Johannes Novohradsky

Der 1971 in Hollabrunn geborene und in Wien aufgewachsene Volkmar Klien ist seit seiner Kindheit fasziniert vom Musikleben seiner Heimatstadt und deren Ritualen. Davon ausgehend erweitert er die Erfahrungen des Komponierens, des Musizierens und des Hörens über die klassische Konzertsituation hinaus.

Klien ist Professor für Komposition und Direktor des Instituts für Komposition, Dirigieren und Computermusik an der Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität in Linz. Seine Arbeiten werden weltweit aufgeführt und präsentiert.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Video

 

Weitere Ausstellungen