-

Renate Bertlmann

CARLONE CONTEMPORARY

In 2020, the Belvedere will be showcasing the work of multimedia artist Renate Bertlmann for the Austrian Pavilion at the Venice Biennale 2019 as part of the CARLONE CONTEMPORARY series: a field of red knife-roses. The installation will feature sensuous flowers made of Murano glass paired with razor-sharp blades emerging from the buds. This juxtaposition of fragility and aggression mirrors the duality found in the frescoes of the Carlone Hall at the Belvedere.

 

Curated by Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein.

 

#CarloneContemporary #RenateBertlmann

Upper Belvedere

Opening Hours
Daily
9 am - 6 pm
Friday
9 am - 9 pm
Address

Upper Belvedere
Prinz Eugen-Straße 27
1030 Vienna
Austria

Tickets

Impressions
The Exhibition
Exhibition view Renate Bertlmann
Photo: Johannes Stoll / Belvedere, Wien, Courtesy: Renate Bertlmann & Richard Saltoun Gallery, London

For the exhibition starting in February 2020 at the Upper Belvedere, the Austrian artist developed a new version of her contribution to the Biennale. Red Murano glass roses, rigorously arranged in a grid pattern, will adorn the lavishly frescoed Carlone Hall of the palace. This juxtaposition of fragility and aggression mirrors the duality found in the Baroque frescoes. The ostensibly fragile blossoms are not without protection as they are armed with blades protruding from each one of their flower heads; in fact, they themselves pose a threat. The contradiction proclaimed in the work's title of Discordo Ergo Sum [I dissent, therefore I am], thus becomes physically materialized in the space. 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Biennale

 

From May to November 2019 Renate Bertlmann is participating in the 58th Venice Biennale, where she and curator Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein have developed a multi-part, site-specific installation for the Austrian Pavilion entitled Discordo Ergo Sum. In rephrasing the philosophical dictum cogito, ergo sum [I think, therefore I am], the artist attempts to cancel out the supremacy of logocentrism and to describe herself within her rebellious perception of self. The installation is comprised of 312 precisely aligned knife-roses that cover the entire inner courtyard of the pavilion and present a synesthetic artistic commentary that makes the existential ambivalence of human experience tangible in both form and content. 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

The Artist
Discordo ergo sum, Austrian Pavillon, BiennaleArte 2019
Photo: Bildrecht, Vienna, 2019, Sophie Thun, Courtesy: Renate Bertlmann & Richard Saltoun Gallery, London

Renate Bertlmann was born in Vienna in 1943. She studied at the Academy of Fine Arts in Oxford in 1962/63 and subsequently at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna, where she then continued to work as a lecturer in artistic techniques. Influenced by the feminist movement of the 1970s, she was an active member of IntAkt (International Action Group of Women Artists) and continues to explore virulent social issues. Her work includes film, photography, collage, drawing, performance, object art, and installation. As a key figure within the feminist avant-garde and a pioneer of performance art, she has developed a distinct and uncompromising oeuvre over the past 50 years. In 2007, she was awarded the Vienna Prize for Fine Arts, and in 2017, the Great Austrian State Prize. Works by Renate Bertlmann can be found at the Centre Pompidou in Paris, the Tate Modern in London, the mumok in Vienna, and the LENTOS Art Museum in Linz. Renate Bertlmann lives and works in Vienna. 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

CARLONE CONTEMPORARY

 

The CARLONE CONTEMPORARY series presents contemporary works in the Carlone Hall of the Upper Belvedere in six-month intervals. From the frescoed ancient world of the deities Apollo and Diana to the present day, contemporary artists bridge the Baroque pictorial program with new artistic stances.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Filmscreening
Photo: Hamzaoğlu, Nitsch, Thun

COMMISSIONS, COLLABORATIONS, COLLECTIVES

this year's girl
by İpek Hamzaoğlu, Laura Nitsch und Sophie Thun

Wednesday, 11 March 2020 | 7 pm
Blickle Kino at the Belvedere 21

The film project for images of / off images by İpek Hamzaoğlu, Laura Nitsch, and Sophie Thun, producers of images for the Austrian Pavilion at the Venice Biennale 2019, shows a fictional collective at work. The collective – the filmmakers themselves – become observers of their own observations. From a kaleidoscopically nested perspective, the film shows how blurred the boundaries are between commissioned and freelance art, documentation and fiction, working time and private time, the sense of belonging and not belonging, and collaboration and individual work.

The screening will be followed by a conversation between the filmmakers and Katharina Aigner and Constanze Ruhm.

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

Other exhibitions

-

Renate Bertlmann

CARLONE CONTEMPORARY

Das Belvedere präsentiert 2020 in der Reihe CARLONE CONTEMPORARY die Arbeit der Multimediakünstlerin Renate Bertlmann für den österreichischen Pavillon der Biennale von Venedig 2019: ein Feld roter Messer-Rosen. Sie zeigt sinnliche Blumen aus Muranoglas mit messerscharfen Klingen im Blütenkelch. Der Gegensatz zwischen Fragilität und Aggression weist Parallelen zur Dualität der Fresken im Carlone-Saal des Belvedere auf.


Kuratiert von Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein. 

 

#CarloneContemporary #RenateBertlmann

Oberes Belvedere

Öffnungszeiten
Täglich
9 bis 18 Uhr
Freitag
bis 21 Uhr
Adresse

Oberes Belvedere
Prinz Eugen-Straße 27
1030 Wien
Österreich

Tickets

Impressionen
Zur Ausstellung
Ausstellungsansicht Renate Bertlmann
Foto: Johannes Stoll / Belvedere, Wien. © Renate Bertlmann & Richard Saltoun Gallery, London

Für die Ausstellung ab Februar 2020 im Oberen Belvedere entwickelte die österreichische Künstlerin eine eigene Variante ihres Biennale-Beitrags. Streng rasterförmig angeordnete rote Muranoglasrosen zieren den üppig freskierten Carlone-Saal des Schlosses. Der Gegensatz zwischen Fragilität und Aggression zeigt Parallelen zur Dualität der Fresken im barocken Ambiente. Klingen ragen aus jedem einzelnen Blütenkopf – die scheinbar zerbrechlichen Blumen sind nicht schutzlos ausgeliefert, sie selbst stehen für Gefahr. Der bereits im Titel proklamierte Widerspruch materialisiert sich physisch im Raum. 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Biennale

 

Von Mai bis November 2019 ist Renate Bertlmann auf der 58. Biennale von Venedig vertreten und hat für den österreichischen Pavillon mit Kuratorin Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein eine mehrteilige Installation unter dem Motto Discordo ergo sum realisiert. Mit der Umformulierung des philosophischen Grundsatzes „Cogito Ergo Sum“ („Ich denke, also bin ich“) versucht die Künstlerin, die Vor-herrschaft des Logozentrismus auszuhebeln und sich in ihrem widerständige Selbstbild zu beschreiben. Die Installation der 312 präzise angeordneter Messer-Rosen nimmt den gesamten Binnengarten des Pavillons ein. Er ist ein künstlerischer Kommentar zur Schau, der in Form und Inhalt die existenzielle Ambivalenz von Menschheitserfahrung sinnlich erfahrbar macht.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Zur Künstlerin
Discordo ergo sum, Austrian Pavillon, BiennaleArte 2019
Foto: Bildrecht, Wien, 2019, Sophie Thun. © Renate Bertlmann & Richard Saltoun Gallery, London

Renate Bertlmann, 1943 in Wien geboren, studierte 1962/63 an der Academy of Arts in Oxford und anschließend an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien, an der sie nach ihrer Ausbildung als Lehrbeauftragte für künstlerische Techniken tätig blieb. Von der feministischen Bewegung der 1970er-Jahre geprägt, war sie unter anderem aktives Mitglied der Künstlerinnengruppe IntAkt. Renate Bertlmann setzt sich in ihrer Kunst stets mit virulenten gesellschaftlichen Fragestellungen auseinander. Ihr Schaffen umfasst Film, Fotografie, Collage, Zeichnung, Performance, Objektkunst und Installation. Als Schlüsselfigur innerhalb der feministischen Avantgarde und Pionierin der Performancekunst hat sie in fünfzig Jahren ein stringentes und unverwechselbares Œuvre entwickelt. 2007 erhielt sie den Preis der Stadt Wien für bildende Kunst, 2017 den Großen Österreichischen Staatspreis. Werke von Renate Bertlmann befinden sich unter anderem im Centre Pompidou, Paris, in der Tate Modern, London, im mumok, Wien, oder im LENTOS Kunstmuseum Linz. Renate Bertlmann lebt und arbeitet in Wien.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

CARLONE CONTEMPORARY

 

Die Reihe CARLONE CONTEMPORARY präsentiert halbjährlich im Carlone-Saal des Oberen Belvedere zeitgenössische Werke. Künstlerinnen und Künstler schlagen mit ihren Positionen zum barocken Bildprogramm der Fresken im Saal eine Brücke von der antiken Götterwelt Apolls und Dianas in die Gegenwart.

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

 

Filmscreening
Foto: Hamzaoğlu, Nitsch, Thun

COMMISSIONS, COLLABORATIONS, COLLECTIVES

this year's girl
von İpek Hamzaoğlu, Laura Nitsch und Sophie Thun

Mittwoch, 11. März 2020 | 19 Uhr
Blickle Kino im Belvedere 21

Der Film von İpek Hamzaoğlu, Laura Nitsch und Sophie Thun zeigt das fiktive Kollektiv images of /off images bei der Arbeit als Bildproduzent_innen für den Österreichischen Pavillon der Biennale in Venedig 2019. Das Kollektiv – das sind die Filmemacherinnen selbst; sie werden zu Beobachterinnen ihrer eigenen Beobachtungen. Aus einer kaleidoskopisch verschachtelten Perspektive zeigt der Film, wie unscharf die Grenzen zwischen Auftragsarbeit und freiem Kunstschaffen sind; zwischen Dokumentation und Fiktion, Arbeitszeit und Privatzeit, Dazugehörigkeit und Ausschluss, Kollaboration und Einzelarbeit.

Im Anschluss findet ein Gespräch der Filmemacherinnen mit Katharina Aigner und Constanze Ruhm statt.

 

Inhalt 3

Inhalt 4

Termine
Weitere Ausstellungen